Sunday, February 25

Annie Ernaux is the winner of the 2022 Nobel Prize for literature

This story has been updated.

The French author Annie Ernaux has been awarded the Nobel Prize for literature, the Swedish Academy announced Thursday.

The academy praised Ernaux “for the courage and clinical acuity with which she uncovers the roots, estrangements and collective restraints of personal memory.” In its announcement, the academy noted that it had not yet been able to reach Ernaux to convey the news directly to her. She later told Sweden’s SVT television that winning the Nobel Prize was a “a great honor” and “a very great responsibility,” according to the Associated Press.

Ernaux’s work frequently deals with questions of personal history. Her memoir of her “Happening” discusses an illegal abortion that she had in the 1960s. A 2018 translation of her memoir from her “The Years” was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. A translation of Ernaux’s “Getting Lost,” a diary of her affair with a younger, married man, was published this year.

Ernaux was born in 1940 in Normandy, the daughter of working-class parents. In 1974, she published her first book, “Cleaned Out,” a fictionalized account of her abortion. She has two sons and lives in Cergy, in the northwestern suburbs of Paris. She has won several French-language literary prizes, including the Prix Renaudot.

In 1996, author Linda Barrett Osborne wrote, “Annie Ernaux’s work can evoke the same response that some modern art does in viewers: a tendency to think that, because it appears simple or direct in composition, it was simple to conceive, that anyone could create the same forms and impressions. Instead, at her best, Ernaux has the ability to refine ordinary experience, stripping it of irrelevancy and digression and reducing it to a kind of iconography of the late-20th-century soul.

Also Read  Kaitlin Armstrong sought in connection to Anna 'Mo' Wilson killing

Read more from Book World

In “I Remain in Darkness,” Ernaux chronicled her mother’s decline under the effect of Alzheimer’s. Released in English in 2000, and translated by Tanya Leslie, the book “details brilliantly, with all the unconscious acuity of actual presence, the miseries and the interdependencies, the frustration and the tedium, the toxic mix of devotion and revulsion that characterize for so many of us the long process of losing an elderly parent,” according to a review in The Washington Post.

Yale University Press is to publish a translation of Ernaux’s “Look at the Lights, My Love” in fall 2023. John Donatich, the director of Yale University Press, said in a statement: “As a great admirer of Annie Ernaux’s extraordinary work, it it is a particular pleasure for me to see her receive this global recognition. Her visionary nonfiction is a profound achievement, and it richly deserves the wide readership this prize will attract. Those many new readers are about to make a wonderful discovery.”

Ernaux’s work has also been adapted to film. “Happening,” directed by Audrey Diwan, received the Golden Lion at the 2021 Venice International Film Festival, and 2020’s “Simple Passion” was a Cannes Film Festival selection. Ernaux and her de ella son de ella David Ernaux-Briot directed “The Super 8 Years,” a 60-minute film composed of old home movies that she is to present at the New York Film Festival next week.

The New Republic recently described Ernaux as “a perennial front-runner” for the Nobel Prize “who never quite crosses the line” but suggested that in selecting her, the academy might “make a principled statement about reproductive rights,” especially given her work in “Happening.” In response to an audience question on whether the choice was a political one, Ellen Mattson, a representative of the academy, said, “We concentrate on literature and literary quality,” before adding, “The message is that this is literature for everyone. ”

Also Read  'We will not stop': 'Where is Peng Shuai' T-shirts appear at Australian Open final | Peng Shuai

The Nobel Prize in literature is awarded annually by the 18-member Swedish Academy. It typically recognizes an author’s full body of work, although the academy has singled out individual works by laureates on nine occasions. This year, the prize is worth roughly $913,000.

Nobel Prize awarded to three scientists for work in click chemistry, which links molecules quickly

Nominations for the literature prize, which are kept secret for 50 years, can be submitted by members of the academy and its peer institutions, literature and linguistics professors, previous laureates, and the presidents of national literary societies. A smaller committee narrows that list twice, ultimately furnishing the academy with five candidates each year. After reviewing and discussing the works of the nominees on that list, the academy selects a winner in October.

Last year’s prize went to Abdulrazak Gurnah, a Tanzanian-born novelist who writes primarily in English. It was awarded “for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents.”

In response to an audience question at this year’s announcement about the Nobel Prize’s general focus on European writers, Mattson said, “We have many different criteria, and you cannot satisfy all of them.” Stressing again that literary quality was most important to the committee, she went on, “One year, we gave the prize to a non-European writer, last year, Abdulrazak Gurnah. This year, we give the prize to a woman.” Ernaux is the 17th woman to win the prize.

The 2022 awards ceremony will take place on Dec. 10 in Stockholm.

Also Read  29 cases reported in Michigan, Ohio; cause unknown

A note to our readers

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *