Wednesday, October 27

Bicentennial of Peru: which was really the last South American country to become independent from Spain?

  • Drafting
  • BBC News World

Image of the South American countries that became independent from Spain

Image source, BBC/Cecilia Tombesi

This July 28 a new president takes office in Peru as the country celebrates 200 years of its independence.

The Andean country is the last former Spanish colony in South America to celebrate its bicentennial.

The other eight South American countries that emancipated themselves from the Spanish crown they celebrated their bicentennials long before.

Bolivia and Ecuador commemorated it in 2009. Venezuela, Argentina, Colombia and Chile, in 2010. And Paraguay and Uruguay, in 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *