Thursday, May 26

CDC adds 22 countries to the list of destinations to which you should not travel due to the rise in cases of COVID

Travelers at Miami International Airport, Florida, during Labor Day weekend.

Joe Raedle / Getty Images

At least four of the 22 countries that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) included in the updated guide of countries at highest risk for travelers due to COVID are in Latin America.

This Monday, the CDC added Argentina, Bolivia, Panama and Uruguay to the list of places in category four or higher risk of contagion of the disease and where americans should not travel. The information contrasts with that released last week, in which the Centers only placed two nations at Tier 4.

In addition to Latin American countries, several islands in the Caribbean added to the breakdown.

Bahamas, Saint Kitts and Nevis, British Virgin Islands, Saint Lucia and Saint Martin are among the demarcations not recommended for travellers.

In the list draws attention Albania as the only country in Europe added to the list. But this is because much of the continent has already been at Level 4 for months. France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom are just some of the European countries that have already been included in CDC Level 4.

In addition to the above notice, the CDC, attached to the United States Department of Health, added 22 countries to Category 3, also considered high risk. Among the places are: Costa Rica, Cuba, Jamaica, Paraguay and several countries in Africa.

Destinations added to Category 4
• Albania

• Argentina

• Australia

• Bahamas

• Bahrain

• Bermuda

• Bolivia

• British Virgin Islands

• Cape Verde

• Egypt

• Granada

• Guyana

• Israel

• Panama

• Qatar

• Saint Kitts and Nevis

• St. Lucia

• Sao Tome and Principe

• San Martin

• Suriname

• Turks and Caicos Islands


Destinations added to Category 3:

• Costa Rica

• Ivory Coast (Ivory Coast)

• Cuba

• Fiji

• Gabon

• Ghana

• Jamaica

• Kuwait

• Madagascar

• Malawi

• Mauritania

• Morocco

• Mozambique

• Nigeria

• Paraguay

• Philippines

• Seven

• San Bartolome

• Saint Pierre and Miquelon

• Sint Eustatius

• Togo

• Uganda

CDC places one destination at Level 4 when more than 500 cases are reported per 100,000 inhabitants in a period of 28 days.

Level 3 applies to destinations with between 100 and 500 cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the past 28 days.

The CDC alert comes amid the efforts of the Biden Administration to stop the rise in cases due to the advancement of the Omicron variant.

It may interest you:

White House will give away 400 million N95 masks for free

Also Read  Protection of the undocumented could be left out of Congress's new economic plan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.