Wednesday, January 19

College Football Awards Showtime, TV Channel, Full Finalist List for 2021 Ceremony

While the finalists for the Heisman Trophy generated immense controversy and left people talking about possible slights, the most prestigious award in college football is not the only award.

There are many other high-profile awards up for grabs, including Maxwell, Doak Walker, Davey O’Brien, and Biletnikoff, among others. And while the finalists for those awards also generated debate and may not mean as much as the Heisman, they certainly are important.

MORE slights from bigger Heisman

In particular, Will Anderson and Jordan Davis, two of Heisman’s biggest snubs, are nominated for the Bednarik Award, given to the nation’s best defensive player. None of Ohio State’s three electrifying receivers in Chris Olave, Jaxon Smith-Njigba and Garrett Wilson were finalists for the Biletnikoff, which is awarded annually to the main receiver. So there were certainly slights outside of the Heisman as well.

But then there are awards like the Mackey (best tight end in the nation) or Ray Guy (best punter) where Group of 5 players are included as finalists. And while it’s just a handful of awards, with the inclusion of Gropu of 5 school Cincinnati in the College Football Playoff, it could be a banner year for players and teams outside of the Power 5.

With the college football playoff field and bowl games allotted, the only thing left at stake is some of the sport’s highest honors.

Sporting News has you covered on how to watch the 2021 college football awards show.

PLUS: Watch the College Football Awards program live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

How to watch the 2021 college football awards show

  • Date: Thursday, December 9, 2021
  • Weather: 7 pm ET
  • Television channel: ESPN
  • Live broadcast: ESPN application, fuboTV

For the second year in a row, these awards, which include crowning the best quarterback, running back, defensive player and others, will be held virtually and streamed live from ESPN Studios in Bristol, Connecticut.

What are college football awards?

The college football awards recognize some of the best players in the country at their respective positions. In particular, these awards precede the Heisman Trophy ceremony, which will be presented on Saturday, December 11 in New York.

BENDER: Picks, predictions for all 43 bowl games of the 2021-22 college football season

Where is the college football awards show held?

This year’s college football awards will be held virtually at ESPN’s studios in Bristol, Connecticut.

2021 College Football Award Finalists, Winners

Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year)

Will Anderson, linebacker, Alabama
Jordan Davis, defensive tacke, Georgia
Kyle Hamilton, security, Notre Dame
Kayvon Thibodeaux, defensive end, Oregon


Biletnikoff Award (Outstanding Receiver)

Jordan Addison, Pitt
David Bell, Purdue
Jameson Williams, Alabama


Lou Groza Award (Outstanding Kicker)

Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma
Jake Moody, Michigan
Noah Ruggles, Ohio State


Ray Guy Award (Best Bettor)

Matt Araiza, State of San Diego
Adam Korsak, Rutgers
Jordan Stout, Penn State


Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)

Kenny Pickett, quarterback, Pitt
Kenneth Walker III, runner, Michigan State
Bryce Young, quarterback, Alabama


National Quarterback Davey O’Brien Award (Outstanding Quarterback)

Kenny Pickett, Pitt
CJ Stroud, Ohio State
Bryce Young, Alabama


Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman)

Jordan Davis, defensive tackle, Georgia
Ikem Ekwonu, offensive tackle, North Carolina
Tyler Linderbaum, center, Iowa


Jim Thorpe Award (Outstanding Defensive Back)

Coby Bryant, cornerback, Cincinnati
Verone McKinley III, security, Oregon
Jalen Pitre, security, Baylor


Doak Walker (featured runner)

Tyler Badie, Missouri
Breece Hall, Iowa State
Kenneth Walker III, State of Michigan


Mackey Award (Outstanding Tight End)

Trey McBride, State of Colorado
Charlie Kolar, Iowa State
Jalen Wydermyer, Texas A&M


Rimington Trophy (Featured Center)

Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa
Alec Lindstron, Boston College
Dr. Oluwatimi, Virginia


Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service)

Nakobe Dean, linebacker, Georgia
Patrick Fields, security, Oklahoma
Isaiah Sanders, quarterback, Stanford


Other awards to be presented include the Campbell Trophy (Outstanding Academic Athlete), a Coach of the Year award, the Disney Spirit Award (Most Inspiring Team or Player) and the Walter Camp All-America team will be unveiled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Golden News Canada