Wednesday, August 4

Daytona 500 lineup: starting order, pole for 2021 race based on qualifying results

The official 40-car lineup for the 2021 Daytona 500 (2:30 p.m. ET; Fox, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM Nascar Radio) is established after pole qualification and Double Duel in the 150-mile races of Daytona at Daytona International Speedway. However, not all cars will come out of the positions their drivers earned during Speedweeks.

The wrecks and mechanical problems during the Duels caused a reorganization in the lineup that included one of the fastest cars in the pole standings and was forced to move to the back of the field for the start of the race.

DAYTONA 500: Highlights of Dueling Races

A look at who won the pole for the Daytona 500 in 2021 and the race’s official starting lineup.

Who won the Daytona 500 pole for 2021?

Alex Bowman won pole with a qualifying lap time of 47.056 seconds (190.261 mph). The pole was Bowman’s second at the Daytona 500; the first was in 2018. He has now qualified for the front row of the Daytona 500 four times in a row (2018-2021).

Bowman’s Hendrick Motorsports teammate William Byron qualified second at 47.314 seconds (190.219 mph). The drivers’ 1-2 order is a reversal of how they qualified for the 2019 race, when Byron won pole and Bowman qualified second.

Bowman’s No. 48 team will occupy pit stall No. 1 for the road.

2021 Daytona 500 starting lineup

As noted above, the starting positions in the table below will not correspond to the order in which the 40 cars will take the green flag on the track. For example, Byron’s car was damaged in an accident in his Dueling career. Byron’s No. 24 team was forced to go into a backup car on Friday, which means Byron will be positioned at the back of the field for the start of the race. He will still be awarded second place in the rankings.

At least six other drivers will move back with Byron: Brad Keselowski, Chase Briscoe, Kaz Grala, Anthony Alfredo, Cole Custer and Ross Chastain. More drivers could back up before the race. For example, Bowman would have to go to the rear if his team changed the engines in the 48 car before the 500. Bowman reported a problem with his engine during his Dueling career.

Initial Pos. Driver Car No. Team
1. Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
two. William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
3. Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
Four. Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
5. Christopher bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
6. Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Racing
7. Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
8. Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
9. Joey logano 22 Penske Team
10. Kyle busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
eleven. Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
12. Chase elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
13 Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
14. Ryan blaney 12 Penske Team
fifteen. Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
sixteen. Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
17. Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
18. David ragan 36 Front row motorsports
19. Jamie McMurray 77 Spire Motorsports
twenty. Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
twenty-one. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22. Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
2. 3. Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
24. Brad Keselowski two Penske Team
25. Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
26. Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
27. Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
28. Joey gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
29. Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
30. Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
31. Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
32. Derrike Cope fifteen Rick Ware Racing
33. what houff 00 StarCom Racing
3. 4. Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
35. Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing
36. Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
37. Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
38. BJ McLeod 78 Live fast motor sports
39. Austin cindric 33 Penske Team
40. Kaz grala sixteen Kaulig racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *