Saturday, May 21

Did Julius Randle travel? Knicks star leaves court furious after controversial decision against Nets

Like many other NBA fans, Trail Blazers star Damian Lillard was watching the exciting conclusion to Monday night’s competition between the Knicks and Nets. And, like many other NBA fans, Lillard was left wondering what exactly happened on New York’s last offensive possession of the game.

Okay, let’s analyze this. Our investigation begins with the work itself …

MORE: Allen Robinson’s “report” on the addition of Andre Drummond to the Nets has some holes

The game

The Knicks faced a three-point deficit with just 5.7 seconds left on the clock. Knowing New York needed a 3-pointer to tie the game, All-Star forward Julius Randle caught an incoming pass, dribbled hard and stopped near the Barclays Center logo on the right wing.

Randle appeared to go up and down without releasing the ball, resulting in an obvious traveling violation. However, replays showed Nets guard Kyrie Irving hitting the ball cleanly, disrupting Randle’s shooting motion.

Brooklyn regained possession, New York fouled to stop the clock and James Harden drained two free throws to secure a 117-112 victory. Randle appeared to get closer to umpire crew chief Scott Foster after the final buzzer, but his Knicks teammates stopped him before the situation got any worse. Randle was clearly furious, knocking over a chair on his way to the locker room.

The reaction

When asked about the walking call during his post-game media availability, Randle declined to go into detail, saying it is “The best thing is that he does not comment on the situation.”

Also Read  Sports Illustrated's Best Summer Olympians in USA in Photos

“He was frustrated, obviously,” Randle said. “We fought a lot to come back and try to win the game. I was frustrated. That was it. But we have another chance to do it tomorrow.” [against the 76ers]. So just focus on tomorrow. “

Irving, who scored 34 points in the game-high Nets win, thought Randle made a smart adjustment after touching the ball.

“Or I was going to foul early [or defend straight up]but I saw him lining up for a jump shot. I felt like I could give him a good hand, “Irving said.” Scott called for travel. I thought Julius made a good move after putting [the ball] down. He was going to foul after that just to get him to the free throw line. But yeah, that’s what it looked like. That’s how it went “.


Here is the relevant section of the NBA regulations Regarding dribbling offenses:

A player may dribble a second time if he lost control of the ball due to:

1. An attempted field goal in his basket, provided that the ball touches the backboard or the basket ring.
2. An opponent who touches the ball.
3. A pass or fumble that touches his backboard, basket ring or is touched by another player.

PENALTY: Turnover. The ball is awarded to the opposing team on the side line closest to the place of infringement, but no closer to the end line than the extended foul line.

The explanation

Foster provided clarification on the walking call as part of a postgame interview with Bryan Mahoney of The Associated Press.

Also Read  Buffon, or playing soccer past 40

“The defender was considered to have touched the ball, but it did not make it go off or let go,” Foster said. “After that, when the player lands, he cannot purposely drop the ball or dribble the ball or be the first to touch after dropping the ball.”

Essentially, the umpires determined that Irving touched the ball when Randle got up to shoot, but it did not actually cause him to lose control of the ball. In that case, the rule allowing Randle to dribble again would not apply.

We’ll have to wait and see if the NBA Final Two Minutes Report confirms that interpretation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.