Thursday, December 9

Espanyol and Mollerussa will face Solares and Getafe in the first round

This Thursday, November 18, the draw for the King’s Cup 2021/2022, in which 112 teams divided into six groups have met their rival. This edition, the 118th, will be the first in history to feature teams from regional categories.

The tournament will begin on November 30 and will feature all teams except for the participants of the Spanish Super Cup, who are exempt from playing the first round: Barça, Madrid, Athletic de Bilbao and Atlético de Madrid. Another novelty compared to past years is that all the games will be televised through DAZN, Footers and Mediaset.

Praise from Rubiales

The president of the Royal Spanish Football Federation, Jose Luis Rubiales, has taken the opportunity to congratulate the players of Spanish selection qualification for the next World Cup in Qatar 2022 and assured that he is very satisfied with this new format of Copa del ReyGiven the difficulty of including teams from so many categories: “The birth of the competition was not easy and the territorial presidents welcomed it very well. We finally have regional teams“.

As far as Catalan teams are concerned, the Sabadell has been paired with Atlético Sanluqueño, the Nastic of Tarragona with the Linares and the Cornellà with the Talavera de la Reina, all of them in the same group. In other groups, the Europe will face Amorebieta, the Lleida to Elche, the Girona to Calvo Sotelo Puertollano, the Spanish al Solares (Cantabria team) and the Mollerussa to Getafe.

The round of 16 will be played in mid-January and the quarterfinals will be the February 2nd. The semifinals, the only round that will be played with round-trip matches, will be played on February 9 and March 2. The final, in the Cartuja Stadium, will be held on April 23, so the two teams that get there will have won six heats.

At the home of the lower-class club

Related news

The clashes in this ‘new’ Copa del Rey will pit the higher-ranked teams against the lower-ranked teams. That is, in the first round the ten regional clubs, the four semi-finalists of the RFEF Cup and two teams from second RFEF against the 16 First Division teams.

On the other hand, the remaining teams from the second RFEF will play against those from the second division and against nine teams from the First RFEF. All matches will take place in the stadium of the lowest category club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *