Tuesday, October 19

Formula 1 qualifying results: starting grid for the 2021 British Grand Prix

More than past races, this is really a sprint.

For the first time in F1, sprint qualifying belongs to Red Bull and Max Verstappen after the sport’s wildly entertaining first foray into a new qualifying format for Sunday’s race. Lewis Hamilton entered the day on pole position, but got off to a slow start, leading the way for Verstappen to take pole:

MORE: Watch Formula 1 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The grid for Saturday’s sprint qualifying session was set with Friday’s qualifying session; Usually the second practice session, a sprint qualifying weekend, means that the typical FP1-FP2-FP3-Q lineup is replaced by FP1-Q-FP2-SQ on Friday and Saturday.

Plus, the top three riders will score some points for finishing on a metaphorical podium: Verstappen takes three drivers’ championship points for Sunday’s race, with his Mercedes teammates, Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas, in second and third place, respectively.

Here’s how they’ll line up this Sunday in the UK:

Formula 1 starting eleven for the 2021 British Grand Prix

Here’s how they lined up for Saturday’s sprint qualifying, with qualifying for Sunday’s race below:

In the end, pole position didn’t matter for Lewis Hamilton, who was overtaken by Red Bull’s Max Verstappen.

Verstappen sits on pole for Sunday’s race. George Russell is under investigation for collision with Carlos Sainz:

Position Driver (team)
1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
two. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
3. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
Four. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
5. Lando Norris (McLaren)
6. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
7. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
8. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
9. George Russell (Williams)
10. Esteban Ocon (Alpino)
eleven. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
12. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
13. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
14. Ride Lance (Aston Martin)
fifteen. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
sixteen. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
17. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
18. Mick Schumacher (Haas)
19. Nikita Mazepin (Haas)
twenty. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

What channel is the F1 race on Sunday?

  • Race: Great Britain Grand Prix
  • Date: Sunday, July 18, 2021
  • Television channel: ESPN
  • Live broadcast: WatchESPN, fuboTV

The ESPN family of networks will broadcast all of the 2021 F1 races in the United States using the Sky Sports broadcast, with some races heading to ABC later in the season.

Additionally, ESPN Deportes serves as the exclusive Spanish-language home for all 2021 F1 races in the US.

What time does the F1 race start on Sunday?

  • Date: Sunday July 18
  • Start time: 10 am ET

Sunday’s race start time at 10am ET means the 2021 British GP will start at 3pm local time. The start time in hours means the lights are likely to go out just after 10am. ESPN’s pre-race show generally airs one hour before the start of the race.

Below is the full TV schedule for the weekend’s F1 events at the British GP.

Date Event Time (ET) television channel
Friday July 16 Practice 1 09:30 am ESPN2
Friday July 16 Qualification 1 p. M. ESPN2
Saturday July 17 Practice 2 7 a. M. ESPN2
Saturday July 17 Sprint classification 11:30 am ESPN2
Sunday July 18 Race 10 a. M. ESPN

Live stream of Formula 1 for the British Grand Prix

For those who don’t have a cable or satellite subscription, there are four main OTT TV streaming options that broadcast ESPN: fuboTV, Sling, Hulu, YouTubeTV, and AT&T Now. Of the four, Hulu and YouTubeTV offer free trial options.

Below are the links to each one.

For those who have a cable or satellite subscription but aren’t in front of a TV, Formula 1 races in 2021 can be streamed live via phones, tablets, and other devices on the ESPN app with authentication.

Formula 1 Calendar 2021

Formula 1 returns in 2021 with a zaftig schedule of 23 races, starting with the Bahrain Grand Prix on March 28 and concluding with the usual Abu Dhabi Grand Prix on December 12.

The Canadian GP was canned as the country continues to grapple with coronavirus issues, with F1 adding the Styrian GP instead. The French GP advances a week until June 20.

The race originally scheduled for October 3 in Singapore was also canceled, and the Turkish GP rejoined the calendar for the same date. That race takes place on the Istanbul city circuit.

The Portuguese Grand Prix returns for the second time in a row after an absence of 22 years. This year, the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix will also make its debut at the Jeddah Street Circuit, scheduled for December.

Date Race Course Start time (ET) television channel Winner
28th March Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit 11 a. M. ESPN2 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
April 18th Grand Prix of Emilia Romagna Enzo and Dino Ferrari International Circuit 9 a. M. TBD Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
May 2nd Grand Prix of Portugal Algarve International Circuit 10 a. M. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
May 9 Spanish Grand Prix Barcelona-Catalonia Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
may 23 Monaco Grand Prix Monaco Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 6th Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku city circuit 8 am ESPN Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
June 20th French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard 9 a. M. ESPN2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
June 27th Styrian Grand Prix Red bull ring 9 a. M. ESPN Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 4th Austrian Grand Prix Red bull ring 9 a. M. ESPN Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
July 18 Great Britain Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit 10 a. M. ESPN TBD
August 1 Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring 9 a. M. ESPN TBD
August 29 Belgian Grand Prix Circuit of Spa-Francorchamps 9 a. M. ESPN2 TBD
September 5 Dutch Grand Prix Zandvoort Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN2 TBD
September 12 Italian Grand Prix Monza National Circuit 9 a. M. ESPN2 TBD
September 26 Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrome 8 am ESPN2 TBD
October 3 Turkish Grand Prix Istanbul City Circuit TBD ESPN2 TBD
October 10th Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Course 1 a. M. ESPN2 TBD
October 24th United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas 3 pm ABC TBD
31 October Grand Prix of Mexico City Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez 3 pm ABC TBD
November 7 Brazilian Grand Prix Autodromo José Carlos Pace Noon ESPN2 TBD
November 21 Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Circuit 1 a. M. ESPN News TBD
December 5th Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Jeddah Street Circuit 11 p. M. ESPN2 TBD
December 12th Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit 8 am ESPN2 TBD


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *