Wednesday, January 20

Heisman Trophy Finalists: Updated Odds, Best Candidates to Win 2020 Prize

Just getting through the 2020 season was an impressive feat for college football players facing outbreaks of COVID-19 in their programs and the scheduling chaos that dismembered weekly routines.

Several athletes stood out above the rest for their performance on the field. Four finalists for the Heisman Trophy were announced Thursday night, and six other vote winners were also recognized and listed in order of completion. The finalists are DeVonta Smith, Mac Jones, Trevor Lawrence, and Kyle Trask.

The Heisman winner will be declared on January 5 in a virtual ceremony. The votes have already been sent, so the performance of the bowl will not influence the decision.

Smith, Alabama’s top-ranked catcher, is the favorite for the award, having racked up 1,511 receiving yards and 17 touchdowns this year.

MORE: Cases For And Against Every Heisman Candidate

Here’s a look at the Heisman Trophy historical winners, finalists and odds:

2020 Heisman Trophy odds

Below are the updated 2020 Heisman Prize odds.

DeVonta Smith (Or, Alabama)-180
Mac Jones (QB, Alabama)+155
Trevor Lawrence (quarterback, Clemson)+1600
Kyle Trask (QB, Florida)+2700

Who are the Heisman finalists?

The Heisman finalists were announced on December 28. Alabama’s offensive duo Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith made the cut, while Tide’s running back Name Harris fell short of a finalist position with a fifth-place vote. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask were also named finalists, joining Jones and Smith.

Heisman 2020 Voting Order

The order of the vote winners out of Heisman’s top four finalists was revealed Thursday night.

Rank Player
10Kyle Pitts (TE, Florida)
9Ian Book (QB, Notre Dame)
8Zach Wilson (QB, BYU)
7Justin Fields (QB, Ohio State)
6Greece Hall (RB, Iowa State)
5Name Harris (RB, Alabama)

When is the Heisman Trophy awarded?

The 2020 Heisman Trophy will be awarded on January 5 at 7 p.m. ET. The award is voted on by members of the college football media across the country. It is the most prestigious individual honor in college football and probably the most coveted in all amateur sports.

Historic Heisman Trophy winners

The Heisman Trophy has spread across the country over the past decade, with members from five different conferences claiming the honor. The center of the college football media world can sometimes look like the SEC, but three of the last four winners voted for by the press come from outside that conference.

This year, fans got to see the first wide receiver chosen since 1991.

These are the last 10 Heisman Trophy winners:

Year PlayerTotal votesMargin of victory
2019Joe Burrow, QB, LSU2,6081,846
2018Kyle Murray, quarterback, Oklahoma2,167296
2017Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma2,3981,098
2016Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville2,144620
2015Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama1,832293
2014Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon2,5341,284
2013James Winston, QB, State of Florida2,2051,501
2012Johnny Daniel, QB, Texas Am2,029323
2011Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor1,687280
2010Cam Newton, quarterback, Auburn2,2631,184

style="display:block" data-ad-client="ca-pub-3066188993566428" data-ad-slot="4073357244" data-ad-format="auto" data-full-width-responsive="true">

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *