Wednesday, May 25

Home Run Derby Format, Explained: Number of Rounds, Time Limits, and Tying Rules for 2021 Contest

The Home Run Derby has undergone a number of format changes since the inaugural competition in 1985.

Before it was done in innings, then in outs and now it is done on time. He went from an open field to groups of players.

But the most recent format seems to be one of the most popular. Fans enjoy the faster pace with hitters now more inclined to swing often rather than waiting for the exact correct pitch to hit.

Here’s a rundown of what to expect from the format at the 2021 Home Run Derby.

MORE: Breaking Down the Home Run Derby Field

How many rounds are there in the derby?

exist three rounds at the Home Run Derby, he operates in a support style. Two competitors will face each other in the quarterfinals, each hoping to hit as many home runs as they can in the allotted time. The hitter with the most home runs goes to the semifinals, where he will face the winner of the neighboring box. The two batters will go through the process again to decide who will pair up in the Home Run Derby final.

This has been the format of the derby since 2015 when, for the first time, the participants met in a draw to reach the final. Previously, each player was assigned a number of outs to work with, any swing that did not result in a home run was considered an out, to hit as many home runs as possible. Each hitter had 10 outs from 1991 to 2013 before it was changed to just seven outs in 2014. The top four in home runs advanced to the semifinals, working to narrow the field to just the remaining two for the final round.

Also Read  Who will win Super Bowl 2022? Pick, prediction, odds for Bengals vs. Rams in Super Bowl 56

What are the time limits?

Under the new format, hitters have four minutes each to hit as many home runs as possible. They are allowed to hit as many hits as they like, as they do not face a penalty for hitting and not hitting a home run. The clock starts as soon as the first pitch is launched. Players can take a time-out at any time during the round.

Batters can extend their time limits by 30 seconds if they throw two baseballs equal to or farther than 440 feet.

What happens in a tie?

There are two steps to a draw in the Home Run Derby. The first step is a one-minute round in which each hitter will have one minute to hit as many home runs as they can. If the batters remain tied after that round, there will be three swing-offs until a winner is decided.

There had never been a draw in the first four years of the new format, but fans got a chance to see it for the first time in Cleveland in the 2019 derby, when Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Joc Pederson were forced to do so. Battle in three swing-offs in their second-round matchup: one timed and two swing-offs of three. Guerrero eventually won with a total of 40 homers to Pederson’s 39.

When is the 2021 Home Run Derby?

  • Date: Monday July 12
  • Hour: 8 pm ET
  • Location: Coors Field, Denver, Colorado
  • Channel: ESPN | ESPN2 (Statcast broadcast)
  • Live broadcast: ESPN + | fuboTV (7-day free trial)

The Home Run Derby will take place on the first day of the All-Star break, Monday, July 12. Fans can tune in to the broadcast on ESPN or watch the Statcast broadcast on ESPN2.

Also Read  Who presents TNT's Inside The NBA? Meet Adam Lefkoe, who replaces Ernie Johnson on Tuesdays

Those hoping to broadcast live can find both streams at ESPN + or fuboTV, which offers a seven-day free trial.

Previous Home Run Derby Champions

Here’s who won the Home Run Derby in the past. Ken Griffey Jr. is the only batter to win the derby in Colorado. He also holds the record for the most Home Run Derby wins overall, with three, including 1998 and 1999, when he became the first player to win the event in consecutive years.

Year Player Team Park (City)
2019 Pete alonso Mets Progressive field (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce harper Nationals National Park (Washington, DC)
2017. Aaron judge Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo stanton Marlins Petco Park (San Diego)
2015. Todd frazier Reds Great American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014 Yoenis cespedes Athletics Target field (Minneapolis)
2013 Yoenis cespedes Athletics Citi Field (New York)
2012 Prince Fielder Tigers Kauffman Park (Kansas City)
2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Field (Phoenix)
2010 David ortiz red stockings Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009 Prince Fielder Brewers Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008 Justin morneau Twins Yankee Stadium (New York)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Angels AT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006 Ryan howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
2003 Garret anderson Angels US Cell Field (Chicago)
2002 Jason giambi Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Diamondbacks Safeco Field (Seattle)
2000 Sammy sosa Puppies Turner Field (Atlanta)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors Coors Field (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Field (Cleveland)
nineteen ninety six Barry bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
nineteen ninety five Frank thomas white sock The ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Forest ranger Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGwire Athletics Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryne sandberg Puppies Wrigley Field (Chicago)
1989 * Ruben Sierra Forest ranger Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989 * Eric Davis Reds Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987 Andre Dawson Puppies Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986 * Wally joyner Angels Astrodome (Houston)
1986 * Strawberry Darryl Mets Astrodome (Houston)
1985 Dave parker Reds Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)
Also Read  SEC Live Streams: How to Watch 2021 College Football Games Online Without Cable

*Both 1986 and 1989 saw draws in the Home Run Derby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.