Thursday, August 5

How many 14 seeds have they won at March Madness? 14 vs 3 surprise record, NCAA tournament stats

Nailing a 14 out of 3 pick is a rite of passage for all fans of the NCAA Tournament. If you hit one of those, it doesn’t even matter if you win the support group, because you definitely have the right to brag for the next year.

All 14 seeds are the perfect heady mix for media collectors. For starters, these annoyances, while far from likely, are far from rare.

And there’s this: The 14 seeds are generally not from the lower-ranked conferences, and are generally teams that had solid regular seasons, rather than the ones that just warmed up at the right time and raced through the league’s tournaments. conference to win the automatic bid. But they are still well below the favorites, so there is an element of “I’m feeling this team” that plays for the national teams.

And isn’t that the most fun thing about filling in a parenthesis?

Here’s a full breakdown of the history of 14 on 3 upsets in the NCAA Tournament, including the runs of the most memorable losers and the important numbers to know when completing your March Madness draw.

MORE: Ranking the Top 80 Surprises in March Madness History

History of 14 seeds vs. 3 losses in the NCAA tournament

The 1986 NCAA Tournament was a special mark of insanity. It’s probably best known as the first time a double-digit team made the Final Four, which was LSU’s 11th, but don’t forget that two 14 won games that year. Cleveland State and Arkansas Little Rock had big upsets, beating Indiana and Notre Dame, respectively. It was just the second year of the 64-team field; In the first year, none of the 14 seeds finished within nine points of a 3 seed.

But a 14th seed won again in every tournament through 1993, and those victories have continued quite regularly. That seven-year streak with at least one 14-seeded win is the longest, but it’s not the only streak. A 14 seed won in 1997-98-99 and the same in 2013-14-15-16. In fact, there has only been a gap of more than three years without a 14-seeded victory since the tournament expanded in 1985, from 2000 to 2004, a gap reserved by Weber State’s surprise over North Carolina and the Bucknell stunner against Kansas.

The performances and memorable moments are abundant. In 2014, Mercer ended a 20-8 streak to beat Duke by seven points. In 1990, Northern Iowa’s Maurice Newby, who averaged just 4.9 points per game that year, drained a triple rainbow moments before the final buzzer to drop Mizzou. In 1999, Harold “The Show” Arceneaux dropped 36 on a UNC team with Antawn Jamison and Jerry Stackhouse to throw Weber State upset. Dick Vitale had to turn on his head after Austin Peay beat Illinois in 1987.

In 2010, Ohio looked a contender for the national championship, losing 97 points to a Georgetown team that was pretty solid defensively. In 1989, Marc Brown scored 32 for Siena when the Saints turned Stanford upside down. And who can forget the contested corner three-point trophy made by Northwestern State’s Jermaine Wallace with 0.5 seconds left to beat Iowa in 2006? Or the moment in 2015 when the triple winner of RJ Hunter knocked his father, coach Ron Hunter, out of his chair when Georgia State defeated Butler?

Year Winner Loser Score
1986 Cleveland State Indiana 83-79
1986 Arkansas Little-Rock Our lady 90-83
1987 Austin peay Illinois 68-67
1988 Murray State State of North Carolina 78-75
1989 Siena Stanford 80-78
1990 Northern iowa Missouri 74-71
1991 Javier Nebraska 89-84
1992 ETSU Arizona 87-80
nineteen ninety five Old Domain Villanova 89-81
nineteen ninety five Weber State Michigan state 79-72
1997 Chattanooga Georgia 73-70
1998 Richmond South Carolina 62-61
1999 Weber State North Carolina 76-74
2005 Bucknell Kansas 64-63
2006 Northwest State Iowa 64-63
2010 Ohio Georgetown 97-83
2013 Harvard New Mexico 68-62
2014 Mercer Duke 78-71
2015 UAB State of Iowa 60-59
2015 State of georgia Baylor 57-56
2016 Stephen F. Austin West Virginia 70-56

MORE: The 14 Most Humiliating First Round Chokes in Big Dance History

14 seeds vs 3 seeds in numbers

  • 21-119: Record of 14 seeds vs. No. 3 seeds
  • 15.0 percent: Overall winning percentage of 14 seeds since 1985
  • 14: Greater margin of victory for a 14th place; Ohio over Georgetown (97-83) and Stephen F. Austin over West Virginia (70-56)
  • 1: The smallest margin of victory for a 14th place; six times, first Austin Peay over Illinois (68-67)
  • two: 14-seeded wins: Northern Iowa vs. Missouri (1990), Northwestern State vs. Iowa (2006)
  • two: 14 seeds to win at least two games: Cleveland State (1986) and Chattanooga (1997)

Has a 14 seed ever won March Madness?

You already know the answer to this question: a 14 seed has never won the NCAA Tournament. But let’s talk about the two teams that made it to the second weekend.

In 1986, the second year of the expanded group of 64 teams, Cleveland State he became the first No. 14 seed to win a game, but the Vikings didn’t stop there. After defeating Indiana by four points in Game 1 (the frantic pace and pressure were more than the Hoosiers could handle), Cleveland State beat Saint Joseph’s sixth seed by six points (75-69) in the second round. . And they came very close to a spot in the Elite Eight, falling by a single point (71-70) to the seventh-seeded Navy behind 22 points, 14 rebounds and seven shots blocked by Navy big man David Robinson.

In 1997, Chattanooga defeated Georgia early in the first round, gaining a 15-0 lead and still 15 at halftime. The Bulldogs rallied to close in on one in the final minutes before the Mocs prevailed. And the club’s tendency to score in groups helped again in the second round, as a 20-4 run in the second half turned an Illinois four-point lead into a Moc lead, and they eventually won and ultimately won 75- 63. Their Sweet 16 showdown was a double-digit delight against No. 10 Providence, who had beaten Marquette and Duke. The friars finished with a 71-65 victory.

MORE: March Madness Cinderella Players We Will Never Forget

Lowest seeded to win the NCAA Tournament

Since the tournament expanded to 64 teams in 1985, we’ve seen five double-digit seeds reach the Final Four:

  • 11 LSU seed in 1986
  • 11th seed George Mason in 2006
  • 11 VCU seed in 2011
  • 10 Syracuse seed in 2016
  • 11 Loyola Chicago seed in 2018

All four lost before reaching the title game. Only four teams seeded below the No. 3 line have won the national title: a 4 seed (Arizona in 1997), a 6 seed (Kansas in 1988), a seven seed (UConn in 2014) and an 8 seed (Villanova in 1985). No fifth seed has ever won. The history of Villanova is the stuff of legend; a courageous and methodical eighth seed who reached the title game by scoring a series of narrow victories (three by three points or less) and facing the mighty Georgetown Hoyas in the championship game.

Some consider it the biggest surprise in NCAA tournament history. But here’s the thing: it’s a great David and Goliath story, but Villanova was pretty good. In the 1985 and 1986 NBA Drafts, three starters from that 1985 team made the top 30 picks (Ed Pinckney with 10 and Dwayne McClain with 27 in 1985 and Harold Pressley with 17 in 1986; Gary McLain entered the seventh. round in 1985). . Note that Villanova had already played Georgetown HARD TWICE that year (losses by just two points and seven points) and, sorry, it’s no surprise in the top five of all time.

However, it is quite an interesting championship story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *