Thursday, May 19

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria brings together the largest fleet in the history of the Ocean Fifty class




The Varadero de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Maritime Club hosted the official presentation of the third episode of the Pro Sailing Tour, which will be held in the waters of the archipelago until next Sunday, July 4. The event was attended by José Eduardo Ramírez, councilor for mobility, economic promotion and Ciudad del Mar of the Las Palmas de Gran Canaria city council as a sign of the important institutional support for the event; the patterns of the participating teams; the race director, Gilles Chiorri; the president of the club, Jorge del Corral; and the director of the Pro Sailing Tour, Julien Mauriat.

Historical record of participants

The Pro Sailing Tour fleet is reinforced for this third episode with The Arch co-sponsored by Armel Tripon and Benoît Marie. For the first time since the creation of the class, the seven Ocean Fifty that exist in the world will compete, a milestone that demonstrates the unity between the members of the class and the strength of this new circuit. The Arch will share the starting line with Ciela Village by Erwan Le Roux, Arkema 4 by Quentin Vlamynck, Primonial by Sébastien Rogues, Solidaires en Peloton – Arsep by Thibaut Vauchel-Camus, Groupe GCA – 1001 Sourires by Gilles Lamiré and Sam Goodchild’s Leyton, current leader of the provisional after winning the two races held in Brest and La Rochelle. During the presentation, all the skippers agreed to praise the excellent sailing conditions in the archipelago, the great reception of the city, the magnificent facilities of the host club and the competition format presented by the Pro Sailing Tour.

Also Read  Speaking of Doomsday with Kim Dotcom, I felt ashamed to have seen him as a ridiculous figure | New Zealand

The intense sports program will consist of a 24-hour regatta and up to ten coastal regattas between tomorrow, Thursday, and next Sunday.

Challenge 24 Hours between trade winds

The competition will begin on July 1 with the 24 Hours Challenge, a course of more than 300 nautical miles that will test the oceanic capacity of the trimarans in the trade wind conditions that prevail on the islands. The departure will take place at 11:00 in the morning in front of San Cristóbal, south of Marina Las Palmas, from where the fleet will begin to circle Gran Canaria in a counterclockwise direction. After completing this first leg, they will head north on a long 90-mile stretch parallel to the west coast of Fuerteventura to circumnavigate the island in a clockwise direction back to Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. “Depending on how fast they complete the lap of Gran Canaria, we will decide whether they go around Fuerteventura or if they return by the same uphill section,” explains regatta director Gilles Chiorri. “The goal is for us to get as close as possible to completing the race in 24 hours.”

The weather forecast ensures a spectacular battle for victory, with wind conditions that will range between 10-15 knots in the north component at the start and 25-30 knots in the section that will take the fleet in front of the Gran Canaria airport. with intensities around 18 knots at night. The teams will have to manage the intensity of the wind and negotiate the calming zones caused around the islands. “This is the most exotic destination on the circuit and the one with the most difficult conditions for these boats,” warns Chiorri.

Also Read  The EU tightens the mechanism to export vaccines

Show for the public

The fleet will go to coastal mode on Saturday and Sunday for a complete menu of short tests that can be seen from land. The start of the first regatta of each day will take place at 10:30 a.m., launching the boats from San Cristóbal to surround La Isleta, in the extreme north of the island, heading to Las Canteras beach in a first round of between 13 and 18 miles. In front of the popular Canarian sandy area, they will contest two or three tests in windward-leeward format (depending on the conditions), before ending each day with a final round back to San Cristóbal.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Varadero Maritime Club on Sunday at 6:00 p.m.

See them

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.