Thursday, December 2

LSU’s Ed Orgeron Joins Auburn’s Gene Chizik, Other Coaches Who Will Be Fired After Championship Seasons

Ed Orgeron joined an unfortunate club Sunday when news broke that he and LSU reached an agreement to part ways after the 2021 college football season. The program’s decision to leave Coach O comes two years. after he led the Tigers to the 2019 college football Playoffs championship.

That LSU walked away from Orgeron is surprising, but not unprecedented, even in the time between his title and the Tigers’ decision to leave the disputed coach. Although Orgeron is not technically fired, he is now one of several coaches, including his predecessor, Les Miles, and former Auburn coach Gene Chizik, whose terms ended prematurely after winning a championship.

MORE: Why Did LSU Fire Ed Orgeron?

In fact, reports suggest that Orgeron’s championship team, which ranks as one of the best of all time, was partly responsible for its downfall at Baton Rouge. The athletic reports that the sixth-year coach “lost track of who he was” after the 15-0 campaign, leading him to give up the practices that made him a successful coach in the first place.

With that, Sporting News takes a look at the coaches whose terms ended in layoff after previously winning a national title:

Gene Chizik (Auburn)

Championship Season: 2010 (14-0)
Year fired: 2012 (3-9)
Final registration: 33-19

Chizik didn’t last long after his 2010 championship season, spearheaded by Heisman Trophy winner and future No. 1 pick overall, Cam Newton. The Tigers went 8-5 the following season, but fell hard in 2012 to 3-9 and were beaten by rivals LSU, Georgia and Alabama for a combined score of 99-10. The final straw was Crimson Tide’s 49-0 win over the Tigers in the Iron Bowl.

Although LSU’s decision to leave Orgeron was made earlier (publicly at least), Chizik still holds the record for the shortest time between a championship season and his firing: 686 days, which equates to one year, 10 months, and 16 days. . That’s due to Auburn’s 3-9 record in 2012, which kept the Tigers from being bowl-eligible for the first time since 2008.

LSU’s 2021 regular season ends on November 27, 2021, which is 685 days away from Orgeron’s championship season, a distinction he probably doesn’t want to take away from Chizik. LSU (4-3, 2-2 in SEC play) needs just two more victories to remain eligible for bowling this season, which would extend Orgeron’s stay in Baton Rouge by at least two more weeks. That being said, it is not certain if you will be allowed to practice bowling.

Miles (LSU)

Championship Season: 2007 (12-2)
Year fired: 2016 (2-2)
Final registration: 114-34

Orgeron is the second consecutive LSU coach to be fired after winning a championship. The first was Miles, whose 2007 Tigers team is the first and only team in the modern era of college football to win a championship with two losses. Miles came close to winning another title four years later, but Alabama blanked him 21-0 in the 2012 BCS championship game in New Orleans after beating Crimson Tide 9-6 in the regular season.

Miles was 10-3 in 2012 and ’13, respectively, but he never smelled a championship again. He was 8-5 and 9-4 in 2014 and ’15, respectively, but burned a great deal of goodwill over his inability to beat Alabama coach Nick Saban after the 2011 season. After his team Starting 2-2 in 2016 with a loss to Auburn, LSU made the decision to fire him and place Orgeron as the program’s interim coach.

MORE: Top 11 LSU Coaching Candidates to Replace Ed Orgeron

Phillip fulmer

Championship Season: 1998 (13-0)
Retirement year: 2008 (5-7)
Final registration: 151-52-1

Fulmer’s team in 1998 won the first BCS championship in college football history, even after Peyton Manning left school early to become the first overall pick in the NFL draft. The Fulmer Volunteers remained competitive after the championship season, only twice dropped below .500 from 1999 until their layoff in 2008. It also led Tennessee to four double-digit winning seasons in 2001, 2003-04 and 2007. , seasons in which his team won the SEC East Division Championship.

Like many SEC coaches, Fulmer’s firing coincided with Saban’s arrival in Alabama. The Crimson Tide beat Fulmer’s Vols in three of their last four seasons in 2005 and 2007-08. Saban’s Alabama team beat Fulmer head-to-head in both games: 41-17 in 2007 and 29-9 in 2008. That record, compiled with Fulmer’s 5-7 record in 2008, led to Fulmer resigning, 10 seasons away from his championship. .

Larry coker

Championship Season: 2001 (12-0)
Year fired: 2006 (7-6)
Final registration: 60-15

Coker’s career in Miami couldn’t have started better: He inherited Butch Davis’ talented Hurricanes team, which went 11-1 the previous year and finished the season second in the country. In 2001 he had no trouble running the table, going 12-0 en route to the Hurricanes’ first national championship since 1991. Miami came desperately close to repeating in 2002, but lost to Ohio State in a controversial overtime final, keeping the Hurricanes away from the pinnacle of college football.

Coker could rely on the talent he had inherited for another good season in 2003, one in which his team was 11-2 but lost to No. 10 Tennessee and No. 18 Virginia Tech. Coker won no games again. double-digit, going 9-3 in 2004 and 2005. He was fired the day Miami beat Boston College to save a 6-6 record, though the Hurricanes allowed him to lead the Hurricanes to a 21- 20 over Nevada at the MPC Computers Bowl, a far cry from the show’s national title aspirations.

MORE: College Football Polls: AP Top 25 Updated, Coaches Poll Ranking After Week 7

Woody hayes

Championship seasons: 1954 (10-0), 1957 (9-1), 1968 (10-0) *
Year fired: 1978 (7-4-1)
Final registration: 205-61-10
Championships voted by AP Top 25 or Coaches Poll

Unlike others on this list, you can pinpoint the exact moment Hayes’ tenure at Ohio State ended – it came when he hit Clemson player Charlie Bauman in the 1978 Gator Bowl in what ended up being a 17-15 loss. for the Hayes Buckeyes.

The next day, Ohio State announced the firing of Hayes. If he hadn’t assaulted an opposing player, he likely would have stayed at Ohio State as long as he wanted. After all, he had three championships awarded by the AP or Coach polls, and two more awarded by the FWAA. As it stands, his tenure ended 10 seasons after his last Associated Press championship in 1968.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *