Wednesday, June 16

Mike Krzyzewski To Retire: How Long Coach K Has Been At Duke & More By The Numbers

When Duke basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski retires at the end of next season, he will do so as one of the most successful coaches in NCAA history.

No one has won more games. Only one coach has won more national championships. He is tied for most Naismith College Coach of the Year honors.

He is already a member of the College Basketball and Basketball Hall of Fame.

MORE: What You Should Know About Mike Krzyzewski’s Possible Replacement At Duke

We’re taking a look at the numbers behind Krzyzewski’s legendary career.

47 years training

Krzyzewski has 46 years coaching NCAA basketball, but with the news that the 2021-22 season will be his last, he will retire having been in charge of a program for 47 years.

Few coaches can match that number. Phog Allen has been a coach for most seasons, beginning training in 1905 with Baker and completing his 50th season as a coach in 1956 with Kansas. Jim Phelan took over as head coach at Mount St. Mary’s in 1954 after one year as an assistant and remained the head coach for 49 years.

Next? Well that’s Krzyzewski. He has been at Duke for 41 years, nearing 42, and spent the previous five years training at his alma mater, Army. That followed a year-long assistant coach job with his former head coach Bob Knight.

1,170 coaching victories

The number will change by the end of the year, but for now his current win total is 1,170.

In 2016, he became the winningest coach in the NCAA tournament with his 90th victory at March Madness. In 2017, he earned his 1,000th victory to become the first Division I men’s coach to reach four digits. The following year, he surpassed Pat Summit with the most wins of a Division I coach. In 2019, he surpassed Harry Statham to claim the title of most wins by a college basketball coach at any level or gender. .

Made with Flourish

He has collected these victories with remarkable consistency. Since joining Duke in 1980, he has won at least 20 games in 35 of his 41 seasons. He reached 30 wins in 13 of those seasons.

However, his all-time win total could potentially be in jeopardy at some point. Herb Magee, the current Division II men’s basketball coach at Thomas Jefferson University, has 1,123 wins. Stanford women’s basketball coach Tara VanDerveer is coming off a national championship win and has 1,125 career wins, while UConn women’s coach Geno Auriemma has 1,119 wins and just signed an extension to keep it at the top. command of the Huskies.

But the only active Division I men’s coach close to Krzyzewski is Syracuse’s Jim Boeheim, who has 982 wins.

5 national championships

The wins during the regular season are great, but the coaches stick around in large part for their ability to bring new posters to the rafters. And only John Wooden of UCLA brought home more NCAA titles to his program.

While coaching the Blue Devils, Duke was crowned national champion five times: 1991, 1992, 2001, 2010 and 2015. The consecutive championships made him the fifth coach to win titles together in consecutive years. Wooden holds the record for seven consecutive victories between 1967 and 1973. Billy Donovan in Florida became the sixth with consecutive victories in 2006 and 2007.

Krzyzewski’s success at March Madness can be measured in more than just the five rings. His 12 Final Four appearances are tied with Wooden for the most of any coach and his 97 tournament wins are the most significant – rival UNC coach Roy Williams is second with 79.

And Krzyzewski maintained that tournament success in conference games. He won 15 ACC tournaments during his career to accompany the 12 ACC regular season titles he accumulated.

3 Naismith College Coach of the Year honors

With all the victories, national championships, and various accomplishments, it should come as no surprise that Krzyzewski has plenty of individual hardware to acknowledge his successes.

He has been named Naismith College Coach of the Year three times, the highest honor bestowed on NCAA Division I coaches. Krzyzewski received the honors in 1989, 1992, and 1999.

John Calipari is the only other male coach with three, winning one in 1996 with UMass, 2008 with Memphis and 2015 with Kentucky. Auriemma has won the female coach honors eight times, Summit has won it five times and Muffet McGraw and VanDerveer have won it three times each.

Krzyzewski has also earned other honors as a coach. He is the 1986 winner of the UPI Coach of the Year, the 1991 National Basketball Coaches Association Coach of the Year winner, the 2004 Clair Bee Coach of the Year winner, and the five-time Coach of the Year winner. ACC. He was named best conference coach in 1984, 1986, 1997, 1999 and 2000. He was also named Sporting News coach of the year in 1992.

72 NBA players

When top high school recruits are looking for college basketball options, one of the first things they look at is whether a program develops NBA talent. Under Krzyzewski at Duke, there were few shows that compared.

Since taking office in 1980, 72 players wearing the Blue Devils uniform have gone on to play in the NBA. Of those 72, 28 have appeared in NBA games this season.

And how good were those players? Collectively, they have averaged 24 minutes per game throughout their careers while posting game averages of 10.5 points, 4.2 rebounds and 2.2 assists.

Grant Hill, Elton Brand, Kyrie Irving, Jayson Tatum, Brandon Ingram, Zion Williamson, JJ Redick, Jabari Parker, and many others have been through Durham and Krzyzewski’s training to reach the NBA floors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *