Tuesday, May 17

NASCAR Atlanta lineup: starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula that NASCAR is using for the majority of its 2021 races.

Driver starting positions for the Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 (3 p.m. ET; Fox, TSN, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final position of car owner from previous race (25 percent)
  • Team Owner’s Point Rating (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15 percent)

Below is the starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race at the 1.5-mile track in Atlanta, which was established without qualification.

Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Atlanta?

Denny Hamlin, the Cup Series points leader after five races, is the pole winner according to math. His Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Martin Truex Jr., last weekend’s winner at Phoenix, will start second.

Hamlin leads the series with four top-five finishes and three stage wins, but he has yet to win a race this season.

The rest of the top 10 after Hamlin and Truex: Joey Logano (Team Penske), Brad Keselowski (Team Penske), Chase Elliott (Hendrick Motorsports), Kyle Larson (Hendrick Motorsports), Kevin Harvick (Stewart-Haas Racing), Christopher Bell (Joe Gibbs Racing), William Byron (Hendrick Motorsports) and Ryan Blaney (Team Penske).

NASCAR starting lineup in Atlanta

The starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Atlanta was determined by a mathematical formula that NASCAR adopted at the end of the 2020 season. The formula produced this starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Atlanta Motor Speedway, the QuikTrip 500 from Folds of Honor:

Also Read  Candidates for Outstanding College Basketball Players in 2021-22
Initial Pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
two Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 Joey logano 22 Penske Team
4 Brad Keselowski two Penske Team
5 Chase elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
6 Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
7 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
8 Christopher bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
9 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
10 Ryan blaney 12 Penske Team
eleven Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
12 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
13 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
14 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
fifteen Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Races
sixteen Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
17 Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway racing
18 Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
19 Kyle busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
twenty Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
twenty-one Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
22 Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
2. 3 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
25 Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 TrackHouse Racing Team
26 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
27 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
28 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway racing
29 Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
30 Corey lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
31 BJ McLeod 78 Live fast motor sports
32 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
33 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
3. 4 James davison fifteen Rick Ware Racing
35 what houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Joey gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
38 Timmy hill 66 Motorsport business management
39 Austin cindric 33 Penske Team
Also Read  Tennessee Titans vs. Pittsburgh Steelers NFL Week 15 Odds, Plays & Outlook for December 19, 2021


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.