Thursday, October 28

NASCAR Dover lineup: starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Dover International Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula that NASCAR is using for the majority of series races in 2021.

The drivers’ starting positions for the Drydene 400 (2 p.m. ET; FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final position of car owner from previous race (25 percent)
  • Team Owner’s Point Rating (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying and practice for just eight Cup Series races in the 2021 season. The next qualifying session will take place before the May 23 event at the Circuit of the Americas, a racetrack on the outside of Austin, Texas.

Below is the starting lineup, which was established without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at the Dover 1-mile oval.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race at Dover?

Martin Truex Jr. was signed to take the field to green for the Drydene 400 based on the mathematical formula. Truex is coming off his third win of the season, a dominating performance at Darlington last Sunday. He is the only driver to win more than once in the Cup Series in 2021.

Truex too won pit position No. 1, which is a valuable property in Dover because track position is very important at Monster Mile.

The Joe Gibbs Racing driver is second in the series points standings behind his teammate Denny Hamlin, who will start in second on Sunday. William Byron, Kyle Larson, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott, Joey Logano and Chris Buescher received the other top 10 spots on the lineup.

NASCAR starting lineup at Dover

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to establish the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Dover International Speedway, Drydene 400, without qualifying.

Pos. Start Driver Car No. Team
1 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
two Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
3 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4 Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Kyle busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Ryan blaney 12 Penske Team
8 Chase elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Joey logano 22 Penske Team
10 Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway racing
eleven Christopher bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
12 Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
13 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway racing
14 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
fifteen Brad Keselowski two Penske Team
sixteen Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
17 Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
19 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
twenty Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
twenty-one Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
22 Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Races
2. 3 Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
24 Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 Trackhouse racing team
25 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
26 Corey lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
27 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
28 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
29 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
30 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
31 BJ McLeod 78 Live fast motor sports
32 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
33 James davison fifteen Rick Ware Racing
3. 4 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
35 what houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Garrett smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *