Monday, November 29

NASCAR Kansas lineup: starting order, pole for Sunday’s playoff race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Kansas Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula that NASCAR is using for the majority of Cup races in 2021.

Drivers’ starting positions for the Hollywood Casino 400, the second round of the round of 16, and the eighth race of the 2021 Cup playoffs (3 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), were based on in four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final position of car owner from previous race (25 percent)
  • Team Owner’s Point Rating (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying for just eight of the 36 points-paying Cup Series races in the 2021 season. Seven of those races have already been raced; the only remaining qualifying race is Championship Race 4 which ends the season at Phoenix Raceway on November 7. NASCAR lowered the rating to limit time on the track and cut costs amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Below is the starting lineup, which was established without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at the 1.5-mile oval at Kansas Speedway.

PLUS: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Kansas?

Kyle Larson got pole for Sunday’s playoff race according to the NASCAR formula. The Hendrick Motorsports driver is coming off a victory in the opening round of 16 race at Texas Motor Speedway on October 17. The victory was his eighth of the season and his third of the playoffs. He has won in each of the first three rounds.

MORE: Texas Playoff Race Results

More importantly, the victory automatically qualified him for the Championship 4 race. Larson will compete for the Cup Series championship on November 7 at Phoenix Raceway.

Ryan Blaney, who is second in the playoff standings, will start second on Sunday. The Penske team driver finished sixth at Texas in the first round of 16 race.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Kyle Larson is at the top of the standings, but he’s already in Championship 4 thanks to his win at Texas. That leaves three spots open and just two more races in Round 8. Ryan Blaney is second, followed by Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch.

Defending series champion Chase Elliott is the first driver to come out heading into Sunday. He is behind Busch by eight points and Hamlin by nine.

MORE: Summary of the Elliott-Harvick Dispute

A playoff driver who wins a race in Round of 8 automatically qualifies for Championship Race 4 on November 7 at Phoenix Raceway.

1x-Kyle Larson4123
2Ryan blaney4072
3Denny Hamlin4064
4Kyle busch4063
5Chase elliott4055
6Brad Keselowski4048
7Martin Truex Jr.4041
8Joey logano4020

x-Advance to the Championship race 4.

NASCAR starting lineup at Kansas

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to establish the starting lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Kansas Speedway, the Hollywood Casino 400. Forty cars were entered, giving the race a full field. Playoff drivers are indicated with a “P” next to their names.

Under NASCAR playoff rules, the top eight places on the field went to the remaining eight playoff drivers, but the starting order was based on the mathematical formula that NASCAR has used for most of its races this season.

Pos. StartDriverCar No.Team
1P-Kyle Larson5Hendrick Motorsports
2P-Ryan Blaney12Penske Team
3P-Brad Keselowski2Penske Team
4P-Kyle Busch18Joe Gibbs Racing
5P-Chase Elliott9Hendrick Motorsports
6P-Denny HamlinelevenJoe Gibbs Racing
7P-Martin Truex Jr.19Joe Gibbs Racing
8P-Joey Logano22Penske Team
9William Byron24Hendrick Motorsports
10Christopher belltwentyJoe Gibbs Racing
elevenKevin Harvick4Stewart-Haas Racing
12Tyler reddick8Richard Childress Racing
13Kurt busch1Chip Ganassi Racing
14Austin dillon3Richard Childress Racing
fifteenMatt DiBenedettotwenty-oneWood Brothers Racing
sixteenDaniel Suarez placeholder image99Trackhouse racing
17Erik jones43Richard Petty Motorsports
18Michael McDowell3. 4Front row motorsports
19Chase briscoe14Stewart-Haas Racing
twentyAric Almirola10Stewart-Haas Racing
twenty-oneChris buescher17Roush Fenway racing
22Cole custer41Stewart-Haas Racing
23Corey lajoie7Spire Motorsports
24Ross Chastain42Chip Ganassi Racing
25Alex Bowman48Hendrick Motorsports
26BJ McLeod78Live fast motor sports
27Bubba wallace2323XI Races
28Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47JTG Daugherty Racing
29Anthony Alfredo38Front row motorsports
30Josh bilicki52Rick Ware Racing
31Ryan newman6Roush Fenway racing
32Ryan Preece37JTG Daugherty Racing
33Justin haley77Spire Motorsports
3. 4Ryan ellisfifteenRick Ware Racing
35what houff00StarCom Racing
36Cody Ware51Petty Ware Racing
37Chad finchum66Business Management of Motorsports
38David starr13Business Management of Motorsports
39Joey gas53Rick Ware Racing
40Parker Kilgerman96Gaunt Brothers careers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *