Sunday, August 1

NASCAR Kansas lineup: starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway was established by applying the statistical formula that NASCAR is using for the majority of its 2021 races.

The drivers’ starting positions for the Buschy McBusch Race 400 (3 p.m. ET; FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final position of car owner from previous race (25 percent)
  • Team Owner’s Point Rating (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying and practice for just eight Cup Series races in the 2021 season. Six races remain in that group, beginning with the May 23 event at the Circuit of the Americas, a racetrack in outside of Austin, Texas.

Below is the starting lineup, which was established without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR race on the 1.5-mile track at Kansas Speedway.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Kansas?

Brad Keselowski is the pole winner of Sunday’s race according to NASCAR’s mathematical formula. Keselowski made a pass on the final lap to win last weekend’s race at Talladega. The Penske team driver is sixth in the Cup points standings in 10 races, but is eligible for the Cup playoffs after his victory. He has already won twice at Kansas in his career, in 2011 and 2019.

The other driver in the front row on Sunday will be William Byron. The Hendrick Motorsports driver is fourth in the points standings after his second place to Keselowski at Talladega.

Michael McDowell, Kevin Harvick, Matt DiBenedetto, Austin Dillon, Ryan Blaney, Christopher Bell, Kyle Busch and Cole Custer round out the top 10.

A historical note: the pole-winner has won six times in the previous 30 Cup Series races at Kansas (20 percent). The last to do so was Harvick in 2018.

NASCAR starting lineup at Kansas

The starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Kansas Speedway was determined by a mathematical formula, which produced this starting lineup for the unqualified Busch McBusch Race 400:

Pos. Start Driver Car No. Team
1 Brad Keselowski two Penske Team
two William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
3 Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
4 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
5 Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
6 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
7 Ryan blaney 12 Penske Team
8 Christopher bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
9 Kyle busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
eleven Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
12 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
13 Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Races
14 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway racing
fifteen Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
sixteen Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway racing
17 Chase elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
18 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
19 Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
twenty Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
twenty-one Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 Trackhouse racing team
22 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
2. 3 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
25 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
26 Corey lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
27 Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
28 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
29 Joey logano 22 Penske Team
30 BJ McLeod 78 Live fast motor sports
31 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
32 Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
33 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
3. 4 what houff 00 StarCom Racing
35 Joey gase fifteen Rick Ware Racing
36 Garrett smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
38 Austin cindric 33 Penske Team
39 Matt mills 55 BJ McLeod Motorsports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *