Thursday, September 23

NASCAR lineup at Watkins Glen: starting order, pole for Sunday’s race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Watkins Glen International was established by applying the statistical formula that NASCAR is using for the majority of series races in 2021.

Drivers’ starting positions for Go Bowling at The Glen (3 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final position of car owner from previous race (25 percent)
  • Team Owner’s Point Rating (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying and practice for just eight Cup Series races in the 2021 season. The remaining sessions will be held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on August 15 and in Phoenix for the race of Championship 4 season finale on November 7.

Below is the starting lineup, which was established without qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at the 3.4-mile Watkins Glen circuit.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won pole for the NASCAR race at Watkins Glen?

Brad Keselowski achieved pole position for Sunday’s race. The Team Penske driver has produced two top-five and two top-ten finishes in his past five races.

His teammate Joey Logano will join him in the front row. Logano was ranked No. 2 thanks to his fourth-place finish at New Hampshire in the final race before the Olympic break.

Ryan Blaney made a Team Penske sweep of the top three qualifying spots for Sunday. Blaney has three top-fives and one top-10 in his last five races.

All three drivers have already qualified for the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs by winning a race.

Of the top four drivers in the playoff bubble, two of them will start side by side on Sunday. Kevin Harvick will start fifth and series points leader Denny Hamlin will start sixth. Tyler Reddick will start 13th and Austin Dillon will start 16th.

NASCAR starting lineup at Watkins Glen

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to establish the starting lineup for Sunday’s race at Watkins Glen International, the Go Bowling at The Glen. 37 cars were entered for the race.

Start Driver Car No. Team
1 Brad Keselowski 2 Penske Team
2 Joey logano 22 Penske Team
3 Ryan blaney 12 Penske Team
4 Kyle larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
5 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
7 Christopher bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
8 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
9 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
10 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
eleven Chase elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
12 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
13 Tyler reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
fifteen William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
sixteen Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Kurt busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
18 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
19 Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
twenty Kyle busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
twenty-one Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
22 Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
2. 3 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway racing
25 Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
26 Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Races
27 Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
28 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway racing
29 Corey lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
30 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
31 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
32 Garrett smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
33 Kyle tilley 78 Live fast motor sports
3. 4 Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 what houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 James davison 51 Petty Ware Racing
37 RC Enerson fifteen Rick Ware Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *