Saturday, June 25

NASCAR Richmond lineup: starting order, pole for Saturday’s playoff race without qualifying

The starting lineup for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Richmond Raceway was established by the statistical formula that NASCAR is using for the majority of Cup races in 2021.

Drivers’ starting positions for the Federated Auto Parts 400, the second race of the Cup Series playoffs (7:30 p.m. ET; NBCSN, TSN5, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), were based on four factors:

  • Final position of the driver from the previous race (25 percent)
  • Final position of car owner from previous race (25 percent)
  • Team Owner’s Point Rating (35 percent)
  • Fastest lap of the previous race (15 percent)

NASCAR is qualifying for just eight of the Cup’s 36 points races in the 2021 season. Seven of those races have already been raced; the only remaining qualifying race is the season-ending Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway in November.

Below is the starting lineup, which was established without qualifying, for Saturday’s NASCAR Cup Series playoff race at Richmond Raceway’s 0.75-mile D-shaped oval.

PLUS: Watch Saturday’s NASCAR race live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race at Richmond?

NASCAR assigned Kyle Larson the number one spot in Richmond’s lineup based on their formula. Larson leads the playoff points standings and is coming off second place last weekend at Darlington.

The winner of that race, Denny Hamiln, will line up next to Larson in the front row. Hamlin secured a place in the round of 16 with his first win of the season at the Cook Out Southern 500.

MORE: Busch, Elliott Crashes in Darlington Race

Also Read  College Football Coach Carousel: Every FBS Coach Change In 2021

Under NASCAR playoff rules, the top 16 on Saturday’s field went to the 16 playoff drivers, but the starting order was based on the mathematical formula NASCAR has used for most of its races this season.

The four drivers below the Round of 12 cutoff line entering Saturday’s race will start toward the back of the playoff group. Alex Bowman will start 12, William Byron will start 14, Kyle Busch will start 15 and Michael McDowell will start 16.

MORE: NASCAR Playoffs Explained

Defending series champion Chase Elliott will start at 13th after an accident forced him out of the Darlington race. Elliott enters Saturday’s race tenth in the playoff standings.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

Denny Hamlin became the first driver to reach a second round this year when he won at Darlington. Second driver Kyle Larson increased his lead in playoff points and four playoff drivers suffered big knocks in qualifying after crashing on the track that is “too hard to tame.”

Pos. Driver Points
1 Kyle larson 2106
2 x-Denny Hamlin 2072
3 Martin Truex Jr. 2062
4 Kurt busch 2052
5 Ryan blaney 2048
6 Joey logano 2047
7 Kevin Harvick 2046
8 Brad Keselowski 2038
9 Christopher bell 2031
10 Chase elliott 2030
eleven Aric Almirola 2029
12 Tyler reddick 2026
13 Alex Bowman 2026
14 Kyle busch 2024
fifteen William Byron 2017.
sixteen Michael McDowell 2006

X-Clinched berth in round of 16.

NASCAR starting lineup at Richmond

NASCAR used a mathematical formula to establish the starting lineup for Saturday’s playoff race at Richmond Raceway, Federated Auto Parts 400. 37 cars were entered for the race. Playoff drivers are indicated with a “P-” next to their names.

Also Read  College Football Coaching Rumors: Florida, TCU, Stanford
Pos. Driver Car No. Team
1 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
2 P-Denny Hamlin eleven Joe Gibbs Racing
3 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
4 P-Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
5 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 P-Joey Logano 22 Penske Team
7 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Penske Team
8 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Penske Team
9 P-Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 P-Christopher Bell twenty Joe Gibbs Racing
eleven P-Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
12 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
13 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
14 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
fifteen P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
sixteen P-Michael McDowell 3. 4 Front row motorsports
17 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
18 Chris buescher 17 Roush Fenway racing
19 Austin dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
twenty Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
twenty-one Cole custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
22 Daniel Suarez placeholder image 99 TrackHouse Racing
2. 3 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
24 Ryan newman 6 Roush Fenway racing
25 Corey lajoie 7 Spire Motorsports
26 Chase briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Bubba wallace 2. 3 23XI Races
28 Matt DiBenedetto twenty-one Wood Brothers Racing
29 Justin haley 77 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front row motorsports
31 Erik jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
32 BJ McLeod 78 Live fast motor sports
33 Josh bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
3. 4 Joey gas fifteen Rick Ware Racing
35 what houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Garrett smithley 51 Petty Ware Racing
37 JJ Yeley 53 Rick Ware Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.