Sunday, December 5

Nobel Peace Prize: Who were the last five winners and what happened next?

The winner of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday.

There have been 101 Peace Awards since it was first awarded in 1901 and a total of 135 laureates, as in 32 cases it was shared by two or three people.

The youngest recipient in history was Malala Yousafzai, who received it at just 17 years old. Yousafzai is just one of 17 women who have received the award in their history.

Here’s a look at who has won the Nobel Peace Prize in the last five years.

2020: World Food Program

Last year, the coveted award went to the United Nations World Food Program “for its efforts in the fight against hunger, for its contribution to improving peace conditions in conflict-affected areas and for acting as an engine of efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict. “

The Nobel jury noted that the organization had assisted nearly 100 million people in 88 countries in 2019 and that the COVID-19 pandemic had contributed to a “sharp increase” in the number of hunger victims around the world.

2019: Abiy Ahmed Ali

The Prime Minister of Ethiopia received the award for “his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation and, in particular, for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea.”

Over the past year, Abiy Ahmed has waged a war against regional forces in Tigray, which both sides blame each other on.

Since the conflict broke out in November 2020, there have been reports of human rights violations on both sides, thousands of civilian casualties and warnings that a “humanitarian catastrophe” is unfolding with at least 400,000 living in “conditions similar to those of famine, “according to the UNITED NATIONS.

Abiy Ahmed was sworn in for a second term as Ethiopian leader earlier this week.

2018: Denis Mukwege and Nadia Murad

Both were rewarded for “their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war and armed conflict.”

Mukwege, 66, is a Congolese gynecologist, surgeon and founder of the Panzi Hospital in Bukavu, a city in the eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo where thousands of victims of sexual violence during armed conflicts have been treated.

He has been relentless in his work, despite attempts on his life, and earlier this month, as world leaders prepared to meet at a UN summit in New York, he reiterated his call for a ” international criminal court “to investigate the war. crimes in his native country.

Murad, 28, is an Iraqi Yazidi human rights activist. When he was 19 years old, the so-called Islamic State looted his village and killed 600 Yazidi men, including several members of his family. Murad and other young women were taken prisoner and subjected to beatings and rapes. Eventually he escaped, fled to a refugee camp, and was later offered asylum in Germany.

Since her award, she has continued to shed light on the plight of Yazidi women and reiterated calls for justice, as dozens of Zaxidi women and children remain missing.

2017: International Campaign for the Abolition of Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)

The organization received the award for “its work in drawing attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its innovative efforts to achieve a treaty-based ban on such weapons.”

The Nobel Committee praised ICAN for pressuring governments around the world to commit to cooperating to stigmatize and ban nuclear weapons.

2016: Juan Manuel Santos

The then president of Columbia was chosen as an award winner for “his determined efforts to end the country’s civil war of more than 50 years.”

Santos, 70, began negotiations with the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia – People’s Army (FARC) in 2012 and reached a ceasefire agreement in June 2016. However, the peace agreement, which provided for leniency with former FARC combatants, was defeated by a narrow margin in a referendum later that year.

The Nobel Committee said it had decided to award the prize to Santos despite the referendum results “to encourage continued dialogue and struggles for peace and reconciliation.”

Santos was eliminated in 2018 with Ivan Duque, a critic of the peace agreement, voted in.

According to Amnesty International, crimes under international law and human rights violations and abuses in the context of the ongoing internal armed conflict increased last year.

The NGO also said that Colombia “was the most dangerous country in the world for environmental defenders,” noting that as of August 97 murders of human rights defenders and 45 verified homicides had been documented.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *