Saturday, December 4

Santa Cruz de La Palma will receive the largest participation in the history of the Mini Transat

The Palm



The Island of La Palma will witness, the first days of next October, the arrival of the Mini Transat Regatta, which will have the largest participation of boats in history. Not in vain, under the cover of the transoceanic Regatta that has been held the most in the world, there will be 90 sailors who will arrive at the Marina de La Palma from the French town of Les Sables de Olonne, as a stopover before crossing alone the Atlantic towards the goal located on the Caribbean island of Guadalupe.

This historical event, and its landfall as a stopover in Santa Cruz de La Palma whose organization corresponds to the Real Club Náutico de Santa Cruz de La Palma, has been possible thanks to the involvement from the first moment of public institutions such as the Hon. Island Council of La Palma in its Tourism area, the Santa Cruz de La Palma City Council, the sponsorship of the Government of the Canary Islands, through the General Directorate of Sports and Promotur, as well as the determined commitment that the Port Authority of Santa Cruz de Tenerife whose president, Mr. Carlos González, has expressed the pride of recovering a Regatta that ended in the Port of Santa Cruz de Tenerife in its first edition.

Thus, as a continuation of the work sessions that have been taking place in recent months, among which those recently held with the Minister of Tourism of the Island Council, Raúl Camacho, and the mayor of Santa Cruz de La Palma, Juan José Cabrera, technical and logistical coordination meetings have taken place between the competent entities in the entry of boats in the palm capital, namely, the Port Authority of Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Headquarters of the Maritime District, Port Pilots, as well as the organization itself from the Royal Nautical Club of Santa Cruz de La Palma and Asmar, which was attended by Adrián García, Head of the Maritime District in La Palma, Carlos Concepción, Head of the Port Authority Division; Javier Mesa and Carlos Gustavo Delgado, representing La Palma Pilots, Carmen Gloria Guzmán representing the Nuestra Señora De las Nieves Fishermen’s Association, Carlos Jaubert, Commodore of the Real Club Náutico de Santa Cruz de La Palma and Víctor Montero, Asmar representative.

Similarly, a second working session has been held with Pilar Hernández and Guillermo Cabrera, on behalf of Calero Marinas, the entity that manages Marina La Palma, to establish the logistics of the reception of boats in their docks and design the workspaces on land, management office, security rooms, press, audiovisual production, etc.

At the end of them, Víctor Montero, director of the scale, stated that “We have started from the number of boats that will arrive at the Port of Santa Cruz de La Palma in order to continue with the preparations, define the security protocols, proceed with the establishment of the finish line, etc., with the purpose that the City can host and celebrate this festival of the sea with all the guarantees ”.

The ninety boats that bring together sailors of fourteen different nationalities from four continents will depart from Le Sables de Olonne (France) and are called to cover 4,050 nautical miles, about 7,500 kilometers, to their final destination on the island of Guadeloupe. Santa Cruz de La Palma will host the stopover in the next three editions (2021, 2023 and 2025) of the prestigious biennial regatta, as unveiled in December 2019 at the Paris Boat Show.

The forecast establishes that the sailors begin to arrive from next October 3 to the Port of Santa Cruz de La Palma, while their departure to Isla de Guadalupe will take place on October 29. During its stay throughout the month of October, on the island and Santa Cruz de La Palma, the organization of the Mini Transat will deploy a wide program of activities that will stimulate the capital of the palm tree socially, economically, sportingly and culturally.

See them

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *