Thursday, September 23

They raise the minimum age to marry in New York to 18: protection for children and adolescents



New York Governor Andrew Cuomo yesterday signed a bill that raises the minimum age for marriage to 18, effectively banning child marriage.

The Nalia’s Law Project ”is named after a teenage girl who was forced to marry at the age of 13. Previously, in 2017 New York had raised the minimum age to marry from 14 to 17 years with parental or judicial consent, he recalled NBC News.

“This administration fought hard to successfully end child marriage in New York and I am proud to sign this legislation to strengthen our laws and further protect vulnerable children from exploitation ”, Cuomo said in a statement. “Children must be allowed to live their childhood and I am grateful to the many legislators and advocates who worked diligently to promote this measure and further prevent forced marriages in this state. “

Child marriage occurs in the United States through various loopholes and state-level exceptions, which is where marriage licenses are issued, experts say. “Unchained At Last”, a national advocacy group that advocates ending child marriage and lobbied for the New York bill, said that five other states have passed similar laws that prohibit all marriage before the age of 18: Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island.

Most states in the country allow teens ages 16 and 17 to marry, a few allow it as early as 14, and about a dozen (for example, California) do not have a minimum age of marriage. according to him “Tahirih Justice Center”, an advocacy group for people fleeing violence.

Nearly 300,000 children under the age of 18 were legally married in the US between 2000 and 2018, according to an April study by “Unchained At Last.” Several were as young as 10 years old; But the majority were teens 16 or 17, according to the study. Most were girls married to grown men, on average four years older.

New York law will fine anyone who issues a marriage license to an ineligible person and will charge you with a misdemeanor. The project, which enters effective 30 days later before it becomes law, it will only apply to licenses issued after that date and to marriages not consummated before then.




eldiariony.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share