Monday, November 30

Tokyo 2020 announces sailing competition format



On November 11, the Organizing Committee of the Tokyo Olympic Games and the International Sailing Federation (World Sailing) have published the Tokyo 2020 Announcement of Regattas, a document that sets the rules and calendar of the sailing competition, although is subject to possible minor modifications.

The Opening Ceremony of the Olympic Games. It has been set for July 23, 2021, and the Closing day for August 8, with the regatta calendar of all sailing categories distributed between July 25 and August 4, with the 5th August as a reserve day.

With a total quota of 350 sailors and 250 boats, Spain is classified to participate in seven of the 10 admitted classes (49er, 49er FX, Nacra 17, 470 M, 470 F, RS: XM and RS: X), still having the opportunity to be classified into Finn, Laser Standard and Radial.

The RFEV has already announced the composition of the crews that will attend Tokyo 2020 in the 470 M classes: Jordi Xammar and Nicolás Rodríguez; 470 F: Silvia Mas and Patricia Cantero; 49er: Diego Botín and Iago López Marra; 49er FX: Támara Echegoyen and Paula Barceló; Nacra 17: Tara Pacheco and Florian Trittel; and RS: XF: Blanca Manchón. In RS: X Male, the athlete who will represent Spain has yet to be determined.

Eleven days of competition

After the appropriate days of measurement and the long-awaited Opening Ceremony of the Olympic Games, sailing will experience eleven exciting days of regattas between July 25 and August 4, with August 5 remaining as a reserve day.

For all classes, the competition format includes a series of 10 (Laser St, Laser R, Finn, 470 M and 470 F) or 12 regattas (RS: XM and F, 49er, 49er FX and Nacra 17), after the that the top ten finishers in each class will compete in a double scoring Medal Race, provided that six or more preliminary tests have been contested.

The operational basis of sailing in the Olympic Games. from Tokyo will be located in Enoshima, a small island of overflowing nature located at the mouth of the Katase River, whose port will be the center of operations. Sagami Bay will thus be the setting where the six planned regatta fields will be deployed, baptized as Enoshima, Kamakura, Zushi, Fujisawa, Sagami and Hayama. The planned tests that may be trapezoidal or windward / leeward will be held there.

The estimated sailing time in each of the tests will be 20-25 minutes for the RS: X, 30 minutes for the 49er, 49er FX and Nacra 17, and 50 minutes for the 470, Finn and Laser Standard and Radial. The Medal Races will not exceed 25 minutes.

On the scheduled calendar, the RS: XM and F will premiere the Olympic sailing medal table on July 31; on August 1 we will meet the Laser Standard and Radial medalists; August 2 at 49er and 49er FX; on August 3 those of Finn and Nacra 17; and on August 4 at 470 Male and Female.

Last qualifying opportunities

For classes in which Spain has not yet achieved classification as a country, in Laser Standard and Laser Radial the opportunity will come with the French Olympic Week that will take place in Hyères, between April 17 and 24, 2021, while for The Finn class will be the Finn Gold Cup, which will be held in Porto from May 4 to 12, 2021.

The remaining places to be awarded in Finn are two and will be decided at the Portuguese event, one for Europe and one for Africa. In the case of Lasers, both Standard and Radial, there are six seats that are still free, and the countries of Asia and Europe are fighting for them; In the French event, the 2 places assigned to European countries will be decided, both in Radial and Standard.

At the moment they are Great Britain, New Zealand and Japan – the latter as the organizing country – the only ones that have representation in all Olympic classes. France only has Finn to qualify and Porto will be, as for Spain, their last chance. The United States also has a place in nine of the ten classes, but will no longer have a chance to qualify for 49er, although if any of the countries with a place drop out of the class, they are at the top of the list.

The small group of countries with seven classified classes is made up of Spain, Canada – for whom there are no further classification possibilities – and the Netherlands, which also pursues the Finn place, in addition to those of 470 M and Nacra 17. And a point in favor from Spain: in the list of reassignments due to drop of classified, it is the first country in Finn and the second in Laser Standard and Laser Radial.

In total there are still places to be allocated for 30 boats and 42 sailors.

See them

style="display:block" data-ad-client="ca-pub-3066188993566428" data-ad-slot="4073357244" data-ad-format="auto" data-full-width-responsive="true">

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *