Friday, May 27

Trump breaks with a century and a half tradition

The outgoing president of the United States, Donald Trump.

The outgoing president of the United States, Donald Trump.

The outgoing president of U.S, Donald Trump, announced this Friday that he will not attend the inauguration of his successor in office, Joe Biden, a situation that has not occurred since 1869, 152 years ago, when former president Andrew Johnson did not attend the inauguration ceremony of Ulysses Grant.

With this announcement, there will be four American presidents in the entire history of the country who decided not to go to the inauguration of the next president, according to the White House Historical Association: John Adams (1797-1801); John Quincy Adams (1825-1829); Andrew Johnson (1865-1869); and Trump himself.

In the most current case, Trump maintains that the presidential elections of November 3 were “stolen” by the Democrats, a theory that he has maintained until today.

In fact, it wasn’t until this Thursday that explicitly acknowledged his defeat for the first time in the November elections and condemned the assault perpetrated on Wednesday by his followers in Congress, a fact for which he has been held responsible for having harangued them with his unfounded allegations of electoral fraud before it happened.

The New York president has spent the last two months, since the results of the elections were known, denouncing irregularities in the elections and an alleged fraud that he has not been able to prove.

Johnson decided at the last minute

According to The Washington Post newspaper in its online edition, Johnson made the decision not to go to Grant’s inauguration at the last minute because they had a very bad relationship.

Also Read  Game of Thrones in Cybercrime: Four Emerging Groups That Concern Experts | Digital Transformation | Technology

The two leaders had several disputes throughout the leadership of the Democrat Johnson, who replaced Republican President Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865) after he was assassinated.

According to the Post, Johnson’s “racist views” offended Grant, who was then leading the US Army.

Like Trump, Johnson was close to being removed by Congress, but the Senate killed the initiative promoted by the House of Representatives in February 1868.

The Adams didn’t show up either

Former Presidents Adams, father and son, also did not attend the inaugurations of their successors, Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809) and Andrew Jackson (1829-1837), respectively.

Two very close elections with his rivals, who had been political allies of his in the past – Jefferson was vice president of Adams Sr. – resulted in the two Adams opting out of the inauguration of the next in office.

Far from being controversial decisions, the two Adams explained that they preferred not to go to those events in order to cool down the political temperature in the capital, according to what historian Thomas Balcerski told CNN on Friday.

Another president who was not in the inauguration of his successor was Richard Nixon (1974), who left the White House after resigning due to the “Watergate” scandal, when his vice president, Gerald Ford, was sworn in to the position that he released.

Living ex-presidents will go, minus Jimmy Carter

All living ex-presidents will attend to the inauguration of Biden, with the exception of Jimmy Carter, who will not attend due to his health conditions and the coronavirus pandemic.

Also Read  SLIMMING TRICKS | Discover the superfood that satisfies you and helps you lose weight quickly and healthily

Instead, Bill Clinton (1993-2001), George W. Bush (2001-2009) and Barack Obama (2009-2017) will attend the event on January 20, when Biden begins his term as the nation’s 46th president.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.