Sunday, October 17

What are the first four in March Madness? Explaining the NCAA Tournament Entry Games

The expansion of the NCAA Tournament from 64 teams to 68 teams in 2011 expanded the bubble for teams hoping to capture a general offering. He also created the First Four and provided more basketball in March. Some questioned the need for more equipment. Could a team that wouldn’t make a 64 field be good enough to advance in the tournament? VCU answered that question instantly. The Rams wrote a true Cinderella story and it started in the First Four and ended in the Final Four.

VCU defeated five major teams, including one of the seeded Kansas, in the Elite Eight. The Rams remain the most successful team to come out of the first four games, but not the only team that has thrived. In every year of the First Four’s existence, at least one First Four team has survived to the Round of 32. Lasalle, Tennessee, and the state of North Dakota have all reached the Sweet 16 after starting as a First Four team. Four.

First Four teams were the last to hit the tournament field, but March Madness is one of the most appropriately named terms in all of sports. It doesn’t matter how you get in because as long as you do, anything can happen.

MORE: Why does the NCAA Tournament start on Friday?

What are the first four in March Madness?

The NCAA Tournament expanded to 64 teams in 1985. It stayed that way until it expanded to 65 teams in 2001 when the Mountain West Conference received an automatic offer for the tournament for the first time, bringing automatic qualifiers to 31. the NCAA tournament. Two teams with the lowest seeds in the tournament met in the “opening round game” on the Tuesday after Selection Sunday, with the winner taking on a No. 1 seed in the first round.

The NCAA Tournament was expanded again in 2011. This time the field expanded to 68 teams, with 31 automatic qualifiers and 37 overall offers. The winners of each of those first four games advanced to the round of 64. In 2011 there was talk of expanding the field to 96 or 128 teams, but the field of 68 teams allowed the format to remain the same. Y provide basketball to be played on two additional days between Selection Sunday and the first game of 64 games.

Who plays in the first four of the NCAA tournament?

The eight teams playing in the first four games consist of the four lowest-seeded teams that automatically qualified and the four overall lowest-seeded teams. For the four lowest-seeded automatic qualifiers, two games feature two 16-seeded players and the winner advances to the round of 64 to play a No. 1 seed. Overall ranked teams face each other as 11 or 12 seeds to advance to the round of 64 as well.

MORE: Why Michigan State is a First Four Team in 2021

First Four 2021 schedule

Game Time (ET) television
Game 1: No. 16 Mount St Mary’s vs. No. 16 Texas Southern 5:10 pm truTV
Game 2: No. 11 State of Wichita v. No. 11 Drake 6:27 pm TBS
Game 3: No. 16 Norfolk State v. No. 16 Appalachian State 8:40 pm truTV
Game 4: No. 11 Michigan State vs. No. 11 UCLA 9:57 pm TBS

The entirety of the First Four will take place on Thursday 2021 beginning with the first of the four games at 5:10 pm ET. Michigan State vs. UCLA is the last game of the night, beginning at 9:57 pm ET.

Where is the First Four played?

The first four games have been in Dayton, Ohio, since the field was expanded in 2011. However, the first four games this year will be held in Indiana due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Purdue’s Mackey Arena and the Indiana Assembly Hall will host two games each, the first time Four Four games have not been played in Dayton.

There are practical reasons for Dayton to host these games every year, such as the relatively centralized location and convenient Eastern time zone. But more than anything, Dayton embraces college basketball. The First Four is a big problem in Dayton and the continually packed stadiums prove it. The city celebrates “Big fuss“Every year when the first four arrive in town.

First four results

Year Winner Score Loser
2011 UTSA 70–61 Alabama State
2011 Clemson 70–52 UAB
2011 UNC Asheville

81-77 (overtime)

Arkansas-Little Rock
2011 VCU 59–46 USC
2012 South Florida 65–54
2012 BYU 78–72 Iona
2012 Vermont 71–59 The sea
2012 Western kentucky 59–58 Miss Valley St.
2013 The living room 80–71 Boise State
2013 North Carolina A&T 73–72 Liberty
2013 James Madison 68–55 LIU Brooklyn
2013 Santa Maria 67–54 Middle Tennesse
2014 Albany 71–64 Mount Santa Maria
2014 Cal Poly 81–69 South texas
2014 State of North Carolina 74–59 Javier
2014 Tennessee 78–65 (in real time) Iowa
2015 Dayton 56–55 Boise State
2015 Be miss 94–90 BYU
2015 Hampton 74–64 Manhattan
2015 Robert Morris 81–77 North Florida
2016 Florida Gulf Coast 96–65 Fairleigh dickinson
2016 Santa Cruz 59–55 From the south
2016 Michigan 67–62 Tulsa
2016 Wichita State 70–50 Vanderbilt
2017 UC Davis 67–63 Central North Carolina
2017 State of kansas 95–88 Wake Forest
2017 Mount Santa Maria 67–66 New Orleans
2017 USC 75–71 Providence
2018 Radford 71–61 LIU Brooklyn
2018 Saint Bonaventure 65–58 UCLA
2018 South texas 64–46 Central North Carolina
2018 Syracuse 60–56 State of arizona
2019 State of North Dakota 78–74 Central North Carolina
2019 Belmont 81–70 temple
2019 Fairleigh dickinson 82–76 Prairie View A&M
2019 State of arizona 74–65 de San Juan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *