Thursday, May 19

What channel is the Home Run Derby on today? Time, participants for the 2021 MLB All-Star contest

After an absence in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Home Run Derby is back.

And it should come back with a bang. Coors Field is one of the most batter-friendly ballparks, with Baseball Savant listing it as the fifth best stadium to hit home runs.

This will also be the sixth season that the derby takes place in parentheses. The sluggers will be paired up in parentheses with the goal of outshining each other in a format that has become popular with fans for its fast-paced action.

Here’s a breakdown of how you can watch the Home Run Derby on Monday.

MORE: Watch the Home Run Derby live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

What channel is the Home Run Derby on today?

  • Television channel: ESPN | ESPN2 (Statcast)
  • Live broadcast: ESPN + | fuboTV

Want to see some baseballs put into orbit? Tune in to ESPN for the action at Coors Field. If you’re interested in the numbers behind each long ball, follow the event on ESPN2, where the Statcast broadcast will air. Karl Ravech and Eduardo Pérez will be at the booth for ESPN coverage with Buster Olney and Marly Rivera reporting on the broadcast, while Jason Benetti, Jessica Mendoza and Mike Petriello will call the Statcast edition.

For those who want to stream the event online, fans can find the broadcast on ESPN + and on fuboTV, offering a free seven-day trial.

What time does the Home Run Derby start?

  • Hour: 8 pm ET / 5 pm PT

Live coverage of the Home Run Derby will begin Monday at 7 p.m. ET with Baseball Tonight airing on ESPN and ESPN2, the latter being the Statcast Edition. The derby itself will begin at 8pm ET.

Also Read  Girona is loaded to a First in the Cup

Participants of the Home Run Derby 2021

The 2021 field looks set to put on an exciting show on Monday. There is a two-way phenomenon Shohei Ohtani, reigning derby champion Pete Alonso, local hero Trevor Story and young star Juan Soto, all ready to swing at Coors Field. And that is just the beginning. Rangers outfielder Joey Gallo could have the most raw power of any player in the majors, Royals catcher Salvador Perez could become the first catcher to win the derby, A’s first baseman Matt Olson has been one of the best power hitters in the past four years and Orioles first baseman Trey Mancini is having a remarkable comeback season after beating cancer.

Here’s how the first round of braces will play out in the first round of the Home Run Derby.

Support 1

Seed mass
1 Shohei ohtani
8 Juan Soto

Bracket 2

Seed mass
4 Salvador Perez
5 Pete alonso

Bracket 3

Seed mass
two Joey gallo
7 Trevor story

Bracket 4

Seed mass
3 Matt olson
6 Trey mancini

Previous Home Run Derby Champions

Only one player has won the derby three times, and that would be Hall of Famer Ken Griffey Jr., who won the second of his three crowns at Coors Field in 1998. He then won the following year at Fenway Park for his second. consecutive title: the first of two players to win in consecutive years. Yoenis Céspedes was the second hitter to win in consecutive years, when he won in 2013 and 2014. If Alonso wins this year, he would be the third player to win in two consecutive derbies.

Also Read  Purdue vs. Northwestern NCAA Football Odds, Plays & Outlook | November 20, 2021

Here’s the full list of past Home Run Derby champions.

Year Player Team Park (City)
2019 Pete alonso Mets Progressive field (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce harper Nationals National Park (Washington, DC)
2017. Aaron judge Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo stanton Marlins Petco Park (San Diego)
2015. Todd frazier Reds Great American Ballpark (Cincinnati)
2014 Yoenis cespedes Athletics Target field (Minneapolis)
2013 Yoenis cespedes Athletics Citi Field (New York)
2012 Prince Fielder Tigers Kauffman Park (Kansas City)
2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Field (Phoenix)
2010 David ortiz red stockings Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
2009 Prince Fielder Brewers Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
2008 Justin morneau Twins Yankee Stadium (New York)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero Angels AT&T Park (San Francisco)
2006 Ryan howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
2003 Garret anderson Angels US Cell Field (Chicago)
2002 Jason giambi Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Diamondbacks Safeco Field (Seattle)
2000 Sammy sosa Puppies Turner Field (Atlanta)
1999 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors Coors Field (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Field (Cleveland)
nineteen ninety six Barry bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
nineteen ninety five Frank thomas white sock The ballpark in Arlington (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffey Jr. Sailors Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Forest ranger Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGwire Athletics Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
1991 Cal Ripken Jr. Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryne sandberg Puppies Wrigley Field (Chicago)
1989 * Ruben Sierra Forest ranger Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989 * Eric Davis Reds Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1987 Andre Dawson Puppies Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum (Oakland)
1986 * Wally joyner Angels Astrodome (Houston)
1986 * Strawberry Darryl Mets Astrodome (Houston)
1985 Dave parker Reds Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)
Also Read  Andrés Díaz, from 'recordman' to personal trainer after beating depression

*Both 1986 and 1989 saw draws in the Home Run Derby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.