Thursday, August 18

What countries are currently in NATO?



The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), also known as the North Atlantic Alliance, is an international organization encompassed by some North American and European countries. This political and military organization, created in the midst of the Cold War after the signing of the Washington Treaty (1949), seeks with his work to “guarantee the freedom and security” of the states that comprise it.

Now, with the arrival of the NATO summit in our country, many international delegations will meet on June 28, 29 and 30 in Madrid. However, not all the countries that will go through this meeting of international leaders are those that belong to NATO.

These are the thirty countries in North America and Europe that are part of NATO and that have been annexed over the years since 1949:

Which countries are part of NATO?

During the Cold War, the alliance of countries formed as a result of the Washington Treaty promised to defend itself against possible Soviet Union attacks or one of his allies. The intention was to prevent any kind of aggression from the Kremlin against any of the allied countries of the North Atlantic bloc and, if this happened, the response to the attack would be joint.

Although with the end of the Cold War and the fall of the soviet union In 1991, this alliance seemed to have lost its sense of existence. What is certain is that the new problems of the Western bloc have caused it to continue to have the same strength as then. The rise of the eastern powers, terrorism or the recent war between Russia and Ukraine have given NATO back its importance.

Also Read  Heavy rains in Brazil leave at least 84 dead and dozens missing

At the moment, NATO is made up of 30 countriesamong which are the 12 countries that created it in 1949: United States, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, France, Holland, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, United Kingdom and Portugal.

Over time, they joined Greece Y Turkey (1952)the Federal Republic of Germany (1955), Spain (1982) and Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic (1999).

The entrance of the 21st century made Romania, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Slovakia, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania also joined in 2004 and in 2009 they were Albania and Croatia the chosen ones In 2017 he also joined Montenegrin and in 2020 Macedonia He was the last to enter.

Sweden Y Finland they could be the last to join this long list of countries that make up the Alliance. Only three neutral countries would remain: Austria, Switzerland and Ireland.

[Qué pasaría si Suecia y Finlandia entran en la OTAN en la cumbre de Madrid]

Which countries will attend the NATO Summit?

These 30 countries that make up the North Atlantic Alliance will also be joined by other international leaders from countries that are not part of this organization. It is the case of Sweden Y Finland -which have already formally started their accession process-, Australia, South Korea, Japan Y New Zealand –with the concern of the Pacific and the Chinese challenge on the table in one of the meetings– and others such as Austria, Cyprus, Ireland Y malt.

Also present will be the president of Georgia and, by video call, the one from Ukraine, Volodymyr Zelensky. The great absentee for obvious reasons and that can condition the course of the appointment will be the Russian Vladimir Putin.

See them

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.