Tuesday, January 19

When is the Heisman Trophy ceremony? Start time, odds, finalists for 2020 awards presentation

It stands to reason that in a season far from the traditional, the Heisman Trophy ceremony is also a bit unique. Moved from its regular mid-December schedule on the calendar, this season’s ceremony will take place in January between the two college football Playoff semifinals and the National Championship.

PLUS: Watch the Heisman ceremony live on both (7-day free trial)

While the award given to the most outstanding player in college football has become a quarterback award, things may be different this season with Alabama’s DeVonta Smith at least receiving an invitation to the virtual ceremony. His quarterback Mac Jones is also one of the favorites to win the award, although their combined play can split the votes.

Joe Burrow won last year’s Heisman in a stunning fashion, beating the likes of Jalen Hurts, Justin Fields and Trevor Lawrence, the latter two of whom will receive votes again this season. Florida’s Kyle Trask has also had a dominant season that led the Gators to an SEC East title and could become the program’s first Heisman winner since Tim Tebow in 2007.

Here you will find everything you need to know about the Heisman ceremony, including the weather, TV channel, and betting odds for each of the four finalists.

MORE: Updated Odds to Win 2020 Heisman Trophy

When is the 2020 Heisman Trophy ceremony?

  • Date: Tuesday, January 5
  • Time: 7 pm ET
  • Television broadcast: ESPN, both
  • Location: Virtual (Bristol, CT)

The Heisman Trophy ceremony takes place on Tuesday, January 5, a departure from its normal venue one week after conference championship week. The “ceremony” will include a virtual presentation of ESPN’s studios in Bristol.

2020 Heisman Trophy odds

Below are the updated 2020 Heisman Prize odds.

DeVonta Smith (Or, Alabama)-180
Mac Jones (QB, Alabama)+155
Trevor Lawrence (quarterback, Clemson)+1600
Kyle Trask (QB, Florida)+2700

The Heisman finalists were announced on December 28. Alabama’s offensive duo Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith made the cut, while Tide’s running back Name Harris fell short of a finalist position with a fifth-place vote. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask were also named finalists, joining Jones and Smith.

Where is the Heisman Trophy ceremony held?

The Heisman Trophy winner will be announced at ESPN Studios in Bristol, Connecticut. It has previously been held at the PlayStation Theater, a concert hall in New York’s Times Square, since 2005.

How does the Heisman voting process work?

The Heisman winner is selected by 870 members of the media from across the country. Each voter chooses a first, second and third place. The number of finalists depends on the distribution of the vote beyond the three with the most votes. 56 previous Heisman winners also cast votes, and there is an overall fan vote.

Ballots were distributed this year on December 14 and voters had until December 21 to cast their vote, which means that conference championships influence voting.

style="display:block" data-ad-client="ca-pub-3066188993566428" data-ad-slot="4073357244" data-ad-format="auto" data-full-width-responsive="true">

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *