(CNN) — Abortion is one of the most stressful issues in the United States.
In major, Governor Greg Abbott signed a Texas state law that prohibits abortion after six weeks of pregnancy. There were attempts to block it; however, the Supreme Court and a federal appeals court will not rule on the matter, so the law came into force at dawn on September 1.
Also, just on Wednesday, September 22, Webster Barnaby, the Republican state legislator of Florida, introduced a bill that is modeled on the strict Texas law, which has led to the condemnation of supporters of abortion rights, who fear that laws of this type will soon be introduced in other states.
In addition, on December 1, the Supreme Court to hear case involving Mississippi abortion law, marking one of the most important cases of his mandate in which the judges are asked to annul the case Roe v. Wade (which is the landmark 1973 court decision that legalized abortion across the US prior to viability, which can occur around 24 weeks of pregnancy).
In other words, in the US, more and more restrictive regulations related to abortion are being approved. There are states where the restrictions are currently tougher than others. Below, based on information from the organizations Planned Parenthood Action Fund and Guttmacher Institute, we present you what they are.
The 18 US states with the highest restrictions on abortion
Under Texas law that went into effect a few weeks ago, abortion is prohibited when a fetal heartbeat is detected (as early as six weeks into the pregnancy), which is often before a woman knows she is pregnant. There is no exception for rape or incest, although there is an exception for “medical emergencies.”
Instead of imposing a criminal or regulatory punishment on those who perform abortions after that point in the pregnancy, Texas law created a so-called “right of private action” to enforce the restriction. Essentially, private citizens, anywhere in the country, are given the ability to file civil lawsuits – with the threat of $ 10,000 or more in damages – against medical service providers or even anyone who helps a woman to agree to an abortion after six weeks.
The abortion in this state it is severely restricted. Among the restrictions that make it extremely difficult to access an abortion are the prohibition of it around 20 weeks of pregnancy; limitations on health insurance that covers an abortion; and parental permission for minors to have an abortion.
There are various state restrictions that severely limit the access to abortion. For example, abortion is prohibited around 20 weeks of pregnancy, with few exceptions; limitations on health insurance coverage; the requirement that both mother and father must be involved in the abortion process for a minor in order for it to take place; and even a 24-hour waiting period to conduct state counseling prior to performing the abortion.
Here also the aabortion is legal, but it is severely restricted by these measures, among others: prohibited around 20 weeks of pregnancy, with some exceptions; Parental consent, usually in writing, is required to carry out abortions to minors (although they can present mechanisms to exempt themselves from this measure); and the 24-hour waiting period for advice.
The abortion is prohibited around 20 weeks of pregnancy; there are restrictions and prohibitions on the coverage of abortion in health insurance; if a minor person wants to have an abortion, the parents have to be informed of the process; and, in addition, the 24-hour waiting period between obtaining counseling and performing the abortion.
Abortion is prohibited around 20 weeks of pregnancy; There are also restrictions on medical insurance to cover an abortion; Parental consent, usually in writing, is required for a minor to access an abortion; and, in addition, there is the 24-hour waiting period to receive advice.
Besides the abortion ban Around 20 weeks of pregnancy and the restrictions on health insurance, which are in other states, in this state there is a 72 hour waiting period in which state counseling and then abortion takes place. Likewise, parents must give consent and be informed of the process if they are minors (who have the opportunity to excuse themselves from this requirement).
In Arkansas, there are restrictions such as prohibitions on abortion around 20 weeks of pregnancy; restrictions on health insurance to cover an abortion; the need for parental consent so that minors can opt for an abortion (here they can also ask to excuse themselves from this requirement); and a 72-hour waiting period between state counseling and the procedure.
Here is not the ban on abortion at 20 weeks. However, there are limitations on health insurance to cover an abortion; Parental consent, usually in writing, is required for a minor to access an abortion (you can file a waiver of this requirement); and also a 48-hour waiting period between state counseling and abortion.
In Missouri The same restrictions apply as in Tennessee on health insurance and parental consent for minors. However, the waiting period here is 72 hours.
The limitations in this state are the abortion ban around the 20th week of pregnancy; restrictions on health insurance coverage in relation to abortion, with some exceptions such as danger of death, rape or incest; minors must receive parental consent, but you can file a request to waive this requirement; and a 24-hour waiting period.
Restrictions in Indiana are similar to Kentucky’s in terms of abortion ban around 20 weeks, limitations on health insurance and parental consent. Change the waiting period to 18 hours between state counseling and the practice of abortion.
The restrictions in Ohio They are almost the same as those in Kentucky, with some differences in the limitations on health insurance, since in Kentucky the prohibitions extend to private insurance.
In this state, abortion is prohibited around 20 weeks of pregnancy; state Medicaid insurance prohibits coverage for an abortion, unless the pregnancy is life-threatening, rape, or incest; the parents of a minor must be informed of the procedure, although a petition may be submitted to exempt themselves from the requirement; and a 24-hour waiting period is also established between state counseling and the practice of the procedure.
There is a ban on abortion around 20 weeks of pregnancy; restrictions on medical insurance and even prohibitions on medical insurance to cover abortions, with some exceptions; Parental permission is needed for a minor to access an abortion, with the opportunity to petition against this requirement; and there is a 24-hour waiting period for advice from the state.
Here, the restrictions are similar to those in Wisconsin in terms of abortion ban around the 20th week of pregnancy, insurance limitations and a 24-hour waiting period. In relation to minors, the parents must be fully involved, either with consent or at least informed of the abortion (the minor can file a petition to exempt himself from this step).
Dakota del sur
Abortion is prohibited around 20 weeks of pregnancy; public funds to cover an abortion are available only if it endangers the life of the pregnant person; As for minors, it is necessary that one of the parents be notified for it to take place (a petition can be presented to exempt the requirement); and a 72-hour waiting period is established between state counseling and abortion.
In the state of Wyoming, funds for state Medicaid insurance are prohibited from performing abortions, with some exceptions such as if the pregnant person is at risk of dying, or if the pregnancy was the product of rape or incest. Also, both notification and parental consent are required to carry out the procedure.
With information from CNN’s Ariane de Vogue, Tierney Sneed, Devan Cole and Jeevan Ravindra; and the Planned Parenthood Action Fund and Guttmacher Institute *
George is Digismak’s reported cum editor with 13 years of experience in Journalism