Tuesday, August 3

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Sunday’s Phoenix race

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race scored a couple of firsts.

Martin Truex Jr. overcame a wall rub early in the race and took the lead on the final restart with 25 laps remaining to earn his first win of 2021 and the first in 31 races at Phoenix Raceway.

PLUS: Watch NASCAR races live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Truex’s No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota finally held off Joey Logano’s No. 22 Ford Penske Racing by a convincing 1,698 seconds to victory in the Instacart 500. The 2017 NASCAR Cup Champion took the lead in the race. Race from the outside in a daring reset move. and he pulled away in the closing laps of a spirited race that featured 22 leadership changes.

Below is more information on Truex’s victory, plus full results from Sunday’s race.

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Martin Truex Jr. became the fifth different winner in as many NASCAR Cup Series races this season, joining Michael McDowell, Christopher Bell, William Byron and Kyle Larson. Their victories have earned them playoff spots.

“I wish it was November and I was in the Final Four,” Truex said, referring to the season championship finale in Phoenix at the end of the year.

Logano led the best race in 143 of the 312 laps and won Stage 2, his first stage victory of the year. His Penske Racing teammate Ryan Blaney won Stage 1 (also his first stage win of 2021) and all three Penske Racing cars finished in the top 10. In all, the Penske trio of Logano, Blaney and Brad Keselowski combined to lead 197 laps – 63 percent of the day.

Phoenix NASCAR Results

Truex’s teammate at JGR, Denny Hamlin, was third, followed by Keselowski. Last November’s Phoenix winner, Chase Elliott, was fifth.

Kevin Harvick, a nine-time Phoenix winner, was sixth, his fourth top-10 finish in the first five races of the season. Larson, the winner of Las Vegas last week, was seventh and his Hendrick Motorsports teammate Byron was eighth, followed by Bell and Blaney to complete the top 10.

Hamlin, Keselowski and Logano, all still seeking their first wins in 2021, are 1-2-3 in the championship standings, with Hamlin leading a 39-point lead over Keselowski as the series heads to Atlanta Motor Speedway for the Folds of Honor of next weekend. QuikTrip 500 (3 p.m. ET Sunday; Fox, PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

NASCAR Phoenix Results

Position Driver
1 Martin Truex Jr.
two Joey logano
3 Denny Hamlin
4 Brad Keselowski
5 Chase elliott
6 Kevin Harvick
7 Kyle larson
8 William Byron
9 Christopher bell
10 Ryan blaney
eleven Aric Almirola
12 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
13 Alex Bowman
14 Matt DiBenedetto
fifteen Kurt busch
sixteen Bubba wallace
17 Austin dillon
18 Chris buescher
19 Ross Chastain
twenty Erik jones
twenty-one Daniel Suarez placeholder image
22 Chase briscoe
2. 3 Michael McDowell
24 Justin haley
25 Kyle busch
26 Ryan Preece
27 Corey lajoie
28 Ryan newman
29 Tyler reddick
30 BJ McLeod
31 Cole custer
32 what houff
33 James davison
3. 4 Garrett smithley
35 Josh bilicki
36 Cody Ware
37 Anthony Alfredo
38 Timmy hill

Holly Cain writes for NASCAR Wire Service.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *