Sunday, December 5

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete results from Sunday’s race at Indianapolis

The winner of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race picked up the pieces after several cars were wrecked at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

AJ Allmendinger benefited from two violent crashes and a late-lap twist to win the Verizon 200 at The Brickyard on Sunday. Almendinger took the lead in double overtime from Denny Hamlin after Hamlin was ejected from first place by Chase Briscoe, who moments earlier was penalized by NASCAR for cutting the grass after sliding off the field.

The first Cup race at the Indy Speedway turned into a disaster, with the braking at Turns 5 and 6 being the main culprit. The cars were having a hard time navigating and both late crashes started there. Allmendinger pushed his way through the rubble both times and kept his car clean for the end.

Below is more information on Allmendinger’s victory on Sunday, plus full race results.

MORE: Watch NASCAR races live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

NASCAR veteran AJ Allmendinger captured the Verizon 200 at The Brickyard. The 39-year-old won for the second time in 375 Cup starts; his first victory came in 2014 at Watkins Glen. Allmendinger was a full-time Cup driver in 2018, but is now an Xfinity Series regular. Sunday was his fourth outing in the 2021 Cup, all for Kaulig Racing and all on road courses.

Allmendinger qualified eighth for the race, but was in the middle of the group when the first accident occurred on lap 78 of the scheduled 82-lap race.

His position improved with attrition, and he moved up more places after the second pileup, which took place in the first overtime and again in the 5/6 area.

“Once the chaos started to happen, we started to get closer to the front,” Allmendinger said in his post-race press conference. “I had a really good restart at first. I think we were restarting 17th with eight to go and I was able to get to seventh through all that mess and I was like, ‘Okay, now we’re at least shouting distance.’ . that.’ I knew a couple of cars had older tires.

“That second reboot, I got to the third and it was like, ‘Okay, now we have a chance for this.

Allmendinger had a clear path to victory after Briscoe took Hamlin out of the lead. Briscoe said he did not know he had already been penalized when he took Hamlin off the field. Briscoe thought he was still racing for the first win of his career. Hamlin was racing for his first win of the season.

MORE: Briscoe costs Hamlin first win of ’21

Indianapolis NASCAR Results

AJ Allmendinger drove to victory in the Verizon 200 at The Brickyard, the first race of the NASCAR Cup Series at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Ryan Blaney survived the shipwrecks to finish second. Kyle Larson, Chase Elliott and Matt DiBenedetto completed the top five.

The result had a great effect on the NASCAR Cup playoff race. Allmendinger is not eligible for the playoffs because he runs full time in the Xfinity Series, so the number of Cup-winning drivers this year is still 13. That means the series will have a maximum of 15 Cup drivers with at minus one victory. In turn, that means Hamlin secured a playoff spot Sunday. You can make the playoffs only on points; He has a 198-point lead over the next closest bubble driver, Kevin Harvick. Hamlin has made the NASCAR playoffs 15 times.

Previous race winners Michael McDowell and Aric Almirola also secured playoff spots on Sunday with Allmendinger’s victory.

Hamlin is still competing for the Cup’s regular season points championship, which also earns him a playoff spot. He fell from a tie with Kyle Larson for his 23rd place on Sunday. Larson leads Hamlin by 22 points with two regular-season races remaining.

The last two spots in the playoffs will be settled in those two races. Harvick and Tyler Reddick fill the spots heading into the August 22 race at Michigan International Speedway (3 pm ET; NBCSN, TSN, MRN). The regular season finale is August 28 at Daytona International Speedway.

End upDriver
1AJ Allmendinger
2Ryan blaney
3Kyle larson
4Chase elliott
5Matt DiBenedetto
6Kurt busch
7Erik jones
8Justin haley
9Austin cindric
10Ryan newman
elevenRicky Stenhouse Jr.
12Chris buescher
13Bubba wallace
14Kevin Harvick
fifteenMartin Truex Jr.
sixteenCorey lajoie
17Alex Bowman
18Josh bilicki
19Aric Almirola
twentyKyle busch
twenty-oneTyler reddick
22what houff
2. 3Denny Hamlin
24Brad Keselowski
25Cole custer
26Chase briscoe
27Timmy hill
28Garrett smithley
29Ross Chastain
30Michael McDowell
31Austin dillon
32James davison
33William Byron
3. 4Joey logano
35Ryan Preece
36Christopher bell
37Daniel Suarez placeholder image
38Anthony Alfredo
39Andy Lally
40Cody Ware

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *