Friday, September 24

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday? Complete Talladega Race Results

The winner of the spring Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway led just one lap Sunday, in which the checkered flag was flown at the end.

Brad Keselowski drove to the lead on lap 191 (of a scheduled 188) in the GEICO 500 and held off William Bryon for the win.

MORE: Watch NASCAR races live on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

In Keselowski’s mind, the victory was wrapped in a gift for him when Matt DiBenedetto tried to protect his lead by moving into the high lane and leaving the bottom lane wide open.

“Merry Christmas!” Keselowski told Fox Sports while describing his thoughts when he saw a clear clue in front of him.

Below is more information on Keselowski’s victory, plus full results from Sunday afternoon’s race.

Who won the NASCAR race yesterday?

Brad Keselowski became the ninth different winner in 10 Cup Series races this season with the victory in the GEICO 500. He also captured his sixth victory at Talladega, tying it with Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon for second in the 2.66 miles. superspeedway in Alabama. Dale Earnhardt won 10 times on the track.

“I never would have dreamed of tying Jeff Gordon and Dale Earnhardt Jr. here. That’s something. Those guys are really legends,” Keselowski said. “I’m really proud of my team. We had an accident there early, and they recovered and fixed it as far as I could keep running. My crew chief, Jeremy Bullins, was very confident.”

Keselowski’s car was damaged during a terrible accident at the end of Stage 1. Joey Logano’s car flipped over and he slid down the track after touching Denny Hamlin’s car.

Talladega NASCAR Results

Brad Keselowski earned his first win of the 2021 Cup season and 35th win of his career on Sunday. William Byron, Michael McDowell, Kevin Harvick and Matt DiBenedetto completed the top five.

McDowell had another strong race at superspeed after winning the Daytona 500 in February.

The Cup will be back on a 1.5-mile intermediate track next weekend when it goes to Kansas Speedway for the Buschy McBusch Race 400 (3 p.m. ET; FS1, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Material from the NASCAR Wire Service was used in this report.

End up Driver
1 Brad Keselowski
two William Byron
3 Michael McDowell
4 Kevin Harvick
5 Matt DiBenedetto
6 Kaz grala
7 Tyler reddick
8 Austin dillon
9 Ryan blaney
10 Cole custer
eleven Chase briscoe
12 Anthony Alfredo
13 Ryan newman
14 Ryan Preece
fifteen Aric Almirola
sixteen Ross Chastain
17 Christopher bell
18 Kyle busch
19 Bubba wallace
twenty Harrison burton
twenty-one Chris buescher
22 Corey lajoie
2. 3 Daniel Suarez placeholder image
24 Chase elliott
25 BJ McLeod
26 JJ Yeley
27 Erik jones
28 Cody Ware
29 Timmy hill
30 Justin haley
31 Martin Truex Jr.
32 Denny Hamlin
33 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
3. 4 Joey gase
35 Kurt busch
36 Josh bilicki
37 what houff
38 Alex Bowman
39 Joey logano
40 Kyle larson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *