Wednesday, December 1

Why New Spain disintegrated into so many countries after the independence of Mexico and Central America 200 years ago

  • Drafting
  • BBC News World

Map of New Spain

Image source, Getty Images


New Spain was born in 1536 and lasted for almost three centuries.

This September is the bicentennial for six nations of Latin America.

In that month, but of the year 1821, declarations of Independence were made on the Spanish crown that, after several political experiments, concluded with the birth of six countries that we know today: Mexico, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua and Costa Rica.

Even the territories of Chiapas, Yucatán and Texas they had a short independent life.

They all emanated from the New Spain, one of the vast territories in America that the Spanish Empire created and administered for three centuries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *